
201 East Washington Avenue, Room E200 Governor Scott Walker 
P.O. Box 8916 Secretary Eloise Anderson 
Madison, WI 53708-8916 
Telephone:  608-266-8787 Division of Safety and Permanence 
Fax:  608-266-5547 

 DCF-F-16-E (R. 08/2013) www.dcf.wisconsin.gov 

May 8, 2018 Child Welfare Licensing Memo 2018-17-Lic 

To:  Private Adoption Agencies 

From: Ron Hermes 

Bureau Director 

RE:  Ch. 51 Administrative Rule Changes 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of this memo is to provide information regarding upcoming revisions to Wisconsin 

Administrative Code Chapter DCF 51 that pertain to Private Child Placing Agencies facilitating 

private domestic and international adoptions. 

BACKGROUND 

2015 Wisconsin Act 379, relating to preadoption preparation requirements and referrals to Post 

Adoption Resource Centers was passed on April 25, 2016.   

In summary, 2015 Wisconsin Act 379 impacts preadoption preparation training in the following 

ways: 

 Increases training hours and updates required core competencies to include:

o A minimum of 25 hours of training for prospective adoptive parents;

o A minimum of six in-person training hours;

o A minimum of six child-specific training hours; and

o Additional core competencies focusing on child abuse and neglect, including sexual

abuse, trauma, and child-specific training.

 Removes the Department’s authority to require preadoptive training under §48.84 for parents

adopting a child in a foreign jurisdiction under §48.97.  Please note this is a change to the

original interpretation under Child Welfare Licensing Memo 2016-43L, which indicated Act

379 made no changes to this requirement.supercedes

 Requires agencies providing preadoptive training to offer at least 6 hours of training to

families post adoption.  Families are not required to take this training but may request it.

INFORMATION SUMMARY 

Revisions related to Act 379 to Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter DCF 51  will be 

effective on September 1, 2018.  First time prospective adoptive parents finalizing an adoption 

before September 1, 2018 must meet preadoptive training requirements under current Chapter 

DCF 51.  First time prospective adoptive parents finalizing on or after September 1, 2018 must 



meet the new Chapter DCF 51 preadoptive training requirements effective as of  

September 1, 2018. 

 

Agencies should begin preparing for this change and require prospective adoptive parents to 

complete the training necessary for them based on their anticipated adoption date.  In order to 

assist adoption agencies, the Department has created a Frequently Asked Questions document 

regarding common questions received about the new training requirements.   

 

Please note that while revising Wisconsn Administrative Code Chapter DCF 51, the Department 

reorganized Chapters DCF 50 and 51 to clarify applicability.  Chapter DCF 50 has been revised 

and has changed from “Facilitating the Adoption of Children with Special Needs” to 

“Facilitating Public Adoptions and Adoption Assistance”.  Chapter DCF Chapter 51 has also 

been revised and changed from “Adoption of Children with Special Needs and Preadoption 

Preparation Training” to “Preadoption Training.”  

 

As of the effective date of the revised administrative rules, the Special Needs Adoption Program 

will now be known as Public Adoptions. 

 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

If you have additional questions, please contact your licensing specialist directly, or the 

individual listed as the contact within each referenced memo. 

 

ADOPTION AND INTERSTATE Adoptions Program Specialist 

SERVICES SECTION CONTACT: Bureau of Permanence and Out-of-Home Care 

(608) 422-6905 

 

CHILD WELFARE LICENSING  Child Welfare Program Specialist 

SECTION CONTACT: Bureau of Permanence and Out-of-Home Care 

(262) 446-7856 

 

MEMO WEBSITE: https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cwportal/policy  

 

ATTACHMENT: Preadoption Training Requirements 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cwportal/policy


WI Department of Children 
Child Welfare Licensing 
 

Preadoption Training Requirements 
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for Private Adoption Agencies 

 
This document is intended to answer frequently asked questions about the upcoming revisions to 
Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter DCF 51.  All answers in this document apply to the revised rule, 
which will be effective on September 1, 2018.    
 
Applicability 
Q1. Are all prospective adoptive parents required to complete the preadoption preparation 

training? 
A1. Only prospective adoptive parents adopting for the first time and who are adopting a child being 

placed for adoption by an agency under §48.833, who will petition a court for adoptive 
placement of a child under §48.837, or who will bring a child from a foreign country to be 
adopted in Wisconsin under §48.839 are required to complete the preadoptive training under 
§48.84.   

 
Relatives adopting a child who was placed for adoption by a parent with custody of the child 
under §48.835 and prospective adoptive parents who adopt a child in a foreign jurisdiction and 
then register that adoption in Wisconsin under §48.97 are not required to complete this 
training.  

 
Q2. What training requirements are in place for prospective adoptive parents adopting a child in a 

foreign jurisdiction and registering that adoption under §48.97? 
A2. In order to register the adoption under §49.97(2)(c)3., the prospective adoptive parents must 

submit a sworn statement to the court that “the required preadoption training was completed”.  
This refers to any federally required preadoption training or preadoption training required by 
the specific country from which the child is adopted.  Agencies are allowed to require 
prospective adoptive parents adopting in a foreign jurisdiction to complete training as part of 
their agency’s policies.    

 
Entities Providing Training 
Q3. Who is required to provide the preadoptive training? 
A3. The requirements for which entities may provide the preadoptive training under §48.84 have 

not changed, however, state statutes now allow for an exception for training provided by an 
out-of-state agency to be considered to meet training requirements.   

 
Number of Training Hours 
Q4. Does the 25 required hours of preadoption training include the previously required 2 hours of 

orientation? 
A4. The previously required 2 hours of orientation is not included in the 25 hours of required 

preadoption training.  The 2 hours of orientation training requirement was removed so that 
adoption agencies may be more flexible in scheduling the necessary orientation time applicable 
to their agency.  The 25 hours of preadoption training must cover the required competencies.  

 
Q5. Can the reasonable and prudent parent training required under Ch. DCF 56 Admin Code be 

considered a part of the required 25 hours of pre-adoption training? 
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A5. No.  The reasonable and prudent parent training is a requirement for foster care licensure and 

not adoption.  It is not included as one of the required competencies. 
 
Q6. Can adoption agencies require more training than the 25 hours? 
A6. The preadoption training requirement is for at least 25 hours.  Agencies may create policies that 

include additional training requirements for prospective adoptive parents.  Adoption agencies 
must determine whether a prospective adoptive parent is competent in the required 
competencies, and a prospective adoptive parent may be required to complete additional 
training if the agency determines it is necessary for the prospective adoptive parent to become 
competent in that topic.  

 
Content and Format of the Training 
Q7. Are there new competencies required as a part of the 25 hours of preadoption training? 
A7. Yes.  The following competencies are required to be met through the 25 hours of required 

preadoption training.  The new competencies are underlined: 
• Adoption and its impact on parenting and family dynamics.  
• The issues for a child in an adoptive placement. 
• Loss and grief for the adopted child and the adoptive family.  
• Attachment issues in adoptive placements.  
• Support and resources for adopted children and adoptive families.  
• Cultural sensitivity in adoption.  
• Effects of abuse and neglect in adoption, including sexual abuse.  
• Legal issues relating to adoption.  
• Issues of children being adopted from an institutionalized care setting.  
• Educational issues in adoption. 
• Childhood developmental stages. 
• Trauma issues related to adoption. 

 
Within the “Support and resources for adopted children and adoptive families” competency 
listed above, the adoption agency must provide the prospective parents with information about 
the Post Adoption Resource Center (PARC) in the parents’ region, as well as their ability to 
request post adoption training from the adoption agency.  PARCs are willing to attend in-person 
training in order to provide an overview of the services they provide.  There is also a video that 
can be shared with prospective adoptive parents.  The video can be found at: 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HOAII9ZASs.    
 

Q8. Does each competency require a certain number of hours out of the required 25 hours of 
preadoption training? 

A8. There is no requirement for any individual competency to meet an hour requirement.  Adoption 
agencies must determine how many hours may be required to cover a particular competency.   

 
Q9. How is the required 6 hours of child-specific training determined? 
A9. Adoption agencies are responsible for determining what training is considered child-specific to 

meet the requirement that at least 6 of the 25 hours must be child-specific.  Some of the 
required competencies may already be specific to the child, such as if the child is being adopted 
internationally from institutionalized care.  If the child to be adopted has specific needs that are 
not covered in the competencies, the prospective adoptive parents may need more than 25 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HOAII9ZASs
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hours of training to cover both the required competencies and the necessary child-specific 
training.  The adoption agency must document in the provider file how the training meets the 
child-specific requirement.   

 
Q10. If prospective adoptive parents are adopting more than one child at the same time, typically a 

sibling group, are they required to have more child-specific training? 
A10. Prospective adoptive parents are required to have at least 6 hours of training specific to the 

child to be adopted.  If there is more than one child being adopted, the prospective adoptive 
parents must have 6 hours child-specific training for each child.  If the children to be adopted 
have similar needs, those 6 hours for each child may be covered by the same training.  The 
adoption agency must document in the provider file how the training meets the child-specific 
requirement.   

 
Q11. If prospective adoptive parents have adopted in the past, are they required to have child-

specific training or make up the difference in hours for subsequent adoptions? 
A11. No.  If the prospective adoptive parents are not adopting for the first time, they are not subject 

to any preadoption training requirements under §48.84. 
 
Q12. Which competencies are required to be trained in-person? 
A12. There are no requirements for any certain competency to be trained in-person.  The adoption 

agency may determine which competencies to cover or partially cover during the required 6 
hours of in-person training.  As in-person training allows for the trainer to ensure the 
prospective parent is engaged, understands the material, and has an opportunity to ask 
questions, adoption agencies should consider offering in-person training for the competencies 
that are more difficult to understand. 

 
Q13. How is in-person defined? 
A13. In-person means the trainer is physically in the same room as the prospective parent.  The 

trainer must be in the room to ensure the prospective adoptive parent is engaged, understands 
the material, and has an opportunity to ask questions.  While this may be offered individually or 
in a group, a group in person training allows prospective adoptive parents to make connections 
with other prospective adoptive parents.   

 
Q14. Are there other requirements for the format of the training? 
A14. Yes.  The credit given for training using books and periodicals may not exceed 5 hours of the 

required 25 hours of training.  Additionally, the content of the preadoption training must be 
current and relevant to the type of adoption that the prospective adoptive parents are 
completing. 

 
Q15. Are there documentation requirements for adoption agencies? 
A15. The adoption agency must maintain documentation that each prospective adoptive parent 

completed the required training, including but not limited to that at least 6 hours were in 
person, and how the 6 hours of child-specific training was met for each child to be adopted.  
This documentation must be maintained in the prospective adoptive parent provider file.   

 
Post-Adoption Training 
Q16. Are families required to complete training post adoption? 
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A16. No.  Under §48.84, parents who are post adoption may request training from adoption agencies, 

but are not required to seek training. 
 
Q17. Are adoption agencies required to provide training requested by parents post adoption? 
A17. The agency that provided the preadoption training must offer to provide at least 6 additional 

hours of training after the adoption that is appropriate to the postadoption needs of the family.  
This offer may be made prior to or at the time of adoption.  The adoption agency must explain 
that the family may request the training at any time in the future.  If requested by a post-
adoptive parent, an adoption agency that provided the required preadoption training must 
provide up to 6 hours of training specific to the needs family.  If the adoption agency does not 
have sufficient expertise with the family’s specific needs, the adoption agency must refer 
adoptive parents to resources that are appropriate to provide that training.  

 
Q18. How are agencies required to document a post adoption training request? 
A18. A request for post adoption training and action the adoption agency took to address that 

training request does not need to be documented by the agency.   
 


