
 

 

Wisconsin Department of Children and Families  DSP Informational Memo Series 2020-26i 
Division of Safety and Permanence RE-ISSUED September 21, 2020 
 
 
To:  DCF Area Administrators  

Child Placing Agency Directors 
Child Welfare Agency Directors 
County Departments of Community Programs Directors 
County Departments of Human Services Directors 
County Departments of Social Services Directors 
Group Home Providers 
Tribal Social Service/Indian Child Welfare Directors 
Private Child Placing Agencies 
Residential Care Center Providers 
Shelter Care Providers 
Tribal Chairpersons 

 
From: Wendy Henderson 

Administrator 
 
Re: 2021 Maximum Daily Rates for Group Homes, Residential Care Centers, and Child 

Placing Agencies
 
 
PURPOSE 
 
This memo provides the established 2021 maximum daily rates for Residential Care Centers 
(RCCs), Group Homes (GHs), and Child Placing Agencies (CPAs).  The 2021 maximum daily rates 
for Group Homes (GHs) are now added due to the extended timeframe provided to submit cost 
reports for GH’s.  This memo also outlines the procedure for providers to determine individual 
rates. 
 
 
BACKGROUND 
 
Wisconsin Statute Section 49.343 requires the Department to establish per client daily rates for 
GHs & RCCs, as well as the administrative portion of foster care daily rates paid to CPAs.  The 
Department has established these rates using Cost & Service Report data gathered from providers 
who submitted their reports prior to the established deadline. 
 
 
INFORMATION SUMMARY 
 
Below are the 2021 per client maximum daily rates.  The published maximum rates are effective 
starting January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2021 for all placements, regardless of placement 
date. 
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Provider Type Maximum Daily Rate 

Child Placing Agency $80.76 

Group Home $261.34 

Pregnant/Parenting Teen Group Home $291.34 

Residential Care Center $472.63 

 
On or before October 1, 2020 GHs, RCCs, & CPAs will be required to submit a 2021 proposed rate 
request by completing form DCF-F-2696-E (https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx) 
and emailing it to DCFCWLRateReg@wi.gov.  Failure to meet the deadline of October 1, 2020 will 
result in the provider waiving the right to mediation.  If a licensee does not submit all information 
required under Chapters 52, 54 and 57, the department may impose sanctions and penalties 
under these Administrative Rules and s. 48.715, Stats, including license revocation. 
  
The Department will approve individual rates by November 1, 2020 for rates effective January 1, 
2021.  The provider agency will receive an email from the Department’s Rate Regulation email 
account with the approved rate no later than November 1, 2020.  As of January 1, 2021, all 
placements, regardless of placement date, will follow the Department’s approved rates set for 
2021.  Per Administrative Rules Chapters 52, 54, and 57, an agency shall charge all Wisconsin 
public purchasers the same rate for the same service.  If an agency negotiates a rate lower than 
the Department’s approved rate with a Wisconsin public purchaser, this rate must be charged to all 
purchasers, for all placements.  The agency shall notify the Department within 5 business days of a 
change in their rate. 
 
Please also note that the Department has made adjustments to the methodology to allow for more 
flexibility regarding staff recruitment and retention efforts, and to allow for changes in the Fair 
Labor Standards Act (FLSA).  If your agency intends to undertake additional staff recruitment and 
retention efforts or if you anticipate an impact based on FLSA legislation, that you have not already 
accounted for on the assumptions tab of your Provider Cost & Service Report, you may include that 
information when submitting your Proposed Rate Request form.  Please note that you may be 
asked by the Department, at a future date, to verify that these costs were incurred. 
 
For further clarification, please refer to the following table that outlines the timeline of the Rate 
Regulation process: 
 

Timeline for Rate Regulation  

September 1  The Department publishes 2021 maximum daily rates for each provider 
type.  

October 1  All agencies submit proposed rate using form F-2696-E on or before this 
date. Failure to meet the deadline will result in the provider waiving the 
right to mediation. If a licensee does not submit all information required 
under Chapters 52, 54 and 57, the department may impose sanctions and 
penalties under these Administrative Rules and s. 48.715, Stats, including 
license revocation.  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx
mailto:DCFCWLRateReg@wi.gov
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October 1-31  The Department reviews proposed rates submitted by agencies. Proposed 
rates may be negotiated during this time period with the Department and 
the agency.  

November 1  By this date, the Department will notify agencies of their approved rate. If 
an approved rate is not acceptable an agency shall request mediation 
within 5 days of receiving the notification of the approved rate from the 
Department. The notification will include information on requesting 
mediation of the rate. If mediations are not successful, the Department will 
order a rate. If the agency does not agree; the agency will have 30 days to 
appeal the decision to the Division of Hearings and Appeals  

January 1 Rates are effective for all placements regardless of placement date.  

 
 
CENTRAL OFFICE CONTACT:  Out-of-Home Care Section Manager 
     Out of Home Care Section 
     Bureau of Permanence and Out of Home Care 

PO Box 8916 
Madison, WI  53708 

     (608) 422-6930 
     DCFCWLRateReg@wisconsin.gov 
 
 
MEMO WEB SITE:   https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cwportal/policy 
 
 
ATTACHMENT LINK  :  Proposed Rate Request Form 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx  
 

mailto:DCFCWLRateReg@wisconsin.gov
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/files/forms/doc/2696.docx

