
DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES dcf.wisconsin.gov 
Division of Early Care and Education 

DCF-F-CFS4099 (R. 04/2021) 

Instructions for Obtaining Child Care Licensing 
Rule Books and Commentary Manuals 

CHILD CARE RULE BOOKS: The child care rule books are copies of the administrative code from the 
Legislative Reference Bureau that have been formatted with larger print and bound into a booklet with a table 
of contents, an index and additional appendices. 
• DCF-P-PFS0203 DCF 250 Licensing Rules for Family Child Care Centers 
• DCF-P-PFS0205 DCF 251 Licensing Rules for Group Child Care Centers 
• DCF-P-PFS0202 DCF 252 Licensing Rules for Day Camps 

CHILD CARE COMMENTARY MANUALS: The purpose of the commentary manual is to help users understand 
the intent and application of the rule. They are copies of the administrative code from the Legislative 
Reference Bureau formatted with larger print and including commentary. The information within boxes and in 
italicized print is commentary that was prepared by staff of the Bureau of Early Care Regulation. Additional 
appendices have also been included to provide important information and guidance. 
• DCF-P-PFS4069 DCF 250 Family Child Care Rule with Commentary 
• DCF-P-PFS4024 DCF 251 Group Child Care Rule with Commentary 

DOWNLOADING COPIES FROM THE INTERNET: Copies of the rule books and commentary manuals are 
available online free of charge and may be duplicated without penalty. 
• The administrative codes are available from the Wisconsin State Legislature, Legislative Reference Bureau 

web page http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/dcf/201_252. 
• The child care rule books are available from the Department of Children and Families, Wisconsin Child Care 

Licensing Rules and Manuals page https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/rules. 
• The child care commentary manuals are available from the Department of Children and Families, Licensing 

Rules with Commentary page https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/commentary  

ORDERING PRINTED COPIES: Preprinted copies of the child care rule books may be ordered from the 
department for a fee. See the Ordering Printed Copies section below for instructions on how to obtain 
preprinted copies. Note: Printed copies of the commentary manuals are not for sale from the department. 
 
 

ORDERING PRINTED COPIES 
CHILD CARE LICENSING RULE BOOKS 

Use of form: Use of this form is voluntary; however, if the requested information is not provided, the department may be 
unable to process your request. Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, 
s.15.04(1)(m), Wisconsin Statutes]. 

Instructions: Complete the request form below and submit it along with a cashier’s check or money order made payable 
to the Department of Children and Families to: 

DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILIES 
2187 N STEVENS ST STE C 
RHINELANDER WI  54501 

Name: 
 

Telephone Number: 
(          ) 

Email Address: 
 
Mailing Address: 
 
 No.  Fee Amt. Due 

 DCF-P-PFS0203 DCF 250 Licensing Rules for Family Child Care Centers  x $15  

 DCF-P-PFS0205 DCF 251 Licensing Rules for Group Child Care Centers  x $15  

 DCF-P-PFS0202 DCF 252 Licensing Rules for Day Camps  x $15  

Total Due $ 
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