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Section 48.65, Stats., requires that persons operating child care centers which provide care and 
supervision for 4 or more children under age 7 years for less than 24 hours a day be licensed. The 
statutes also require the Department of Children and Families to establish rules that must be met in 
order to qualify for a license and which protect and promote the health, safety and welfare of the 
children in the care of the child care center. 
 
Chapter DCF 251 is the rule governing Group Child Care Centers, which provide care and supervision 
to 9 or more children for less than 24 hours a day. There are also other rules governing the out-of-
home care of children. DCF 250 is the rule for Family Child Care Centers where care and supervision 
is provided for between 4 and 8 children under age 7. DCF 252 is the rule for day camps which are 
licensed child care centers that provide an experience in a seasonal program oriented to the out-of-
doors for periods of less than 24 hours a day.  
 
Licensing rules should not be confused with certification for public funding of child care providers 
who care for between 1 and 3 children under age 7. 
 
The fact that a child care center is licensed in no way diminishes the responsibility of parents for 
vigilance in ensuring that their children are receiving care that protects their physical well-being and 
encourages healthy intellectual and emotional development. 
 
Whenever the rules in this chapter indicate that materials such as an application for licensure, a 
request for exception to a specific rule or a complaint about a center are to be sent to or requested 
from the Department, please refer to Appendix A which identifies the appropriate regional licensing 
office serving the county or tribe in which the center is located. 
 
There is a header on each page that contains the rule cite for the section of the rule beginning on that 
page. A table of contents and an index are also included in this document as are appendices that 
contain key statutes related to the child care rules and a copy of DCF 13 (administrative rules 
governing child care background checks).  
 
This publication may be duplicated. It is available from the Department’s web page 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/rules  
 
The Department of Children and Families is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If 
you have a disability and need to access services, receive information in an alternate format, or need 
information translated to another language, please contact the Bureau of Early Care Regulation at 
dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov or (608) 421-7550. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing, deaf-blind or 
speech disabled can use the free Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) – 711 to contact the department. 
 
El Department of Children and Families es un empleador y proveedor de servicios que ofrece igualdad 
de oportunidades. Si tiene alguna discapacidad y necesita acceder a servicios, recibir información en un 
formato alternativo o necesita que le traduzcan la información a otro idioma, comuníquese con el 
Bureau of Early Care Regulation at dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov or (608) 421-7550. Las personas sordas, 
con dificultades auditivas, sordo-ciegas o con discapacidad del habla pueden utilizar el Wisconsin Relay 
Service (WRS) – llame al 711 para comunicarse con el departamento. 
 
Lub Department of Children and Families yog ib lub chaw hauj lwm thiab chaw muab kev pab uas muaj 
vaj huam sib luag. Yog koj muaj ib qho tsis taus thiab xav tau kev pab, xav tau cov ntaub ntawv muab 
sau ua ib hom ntawv, los sis xav kom muab cov ntaub ntawv txhais ua lwm hom lus, thov hu rau Bureau 
of Early Care Regulation ntawm dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov 608-421-7550. Cov neeg uas lag ntseg, 
hnov lus tsis zoo, dig muag los sis muaj ib qho tsis taus tshwj xeeb tuaj yeem siv tus xov tooj hu dawb 
Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) – 711 hu mus rau lub chaw ua haujlwm. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/rules
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
mailto:dcfcclicreg@wisconsin.gov
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251.01 

DCF 251.01 Authority and purpose. This chapter is promulgated under the authority of s. 
48.67, Stats., to establish licensing requirements under s. 48.65, Stats., for group child care 
centers for children. The purpose of this chapter is to protect the health, safety and welfare 
of children being cared for in group child care centers. 
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DCF 251.02 Applicability. 

(1) INCLUDED AND EXCLUDED CARE ARRANGEMENTS. This chapter applies to all group child 
care centers, whether the facility in which the child care and supervision are provided is 
known as a day care center, nursery school or preschool, head start or school-age child care 
program, or by any other designation, but it does not apply to the following: 

(a) Care and supervision of children in a program, including religious education classes, 
which operates no more than 4 hours a week. 

(b) Group lessons to develop a talent or skill, such as dance or music lessons, social 
group meetings and activities and group athletic activities. 

(c) Care and supervision while the child’s parent is on the premises and is engaged in 
shopping, recreation or other non-work activities. 

(d) Care and supervision provided at the site to the child of a recipient of temporary 
assistance to needy families or Wisconsin works who is involved in orientation, enrollment 
or initial assessment prior to the development of an employability plan or the child care is 
provided where parents are provided training or counseling. 

(e) Seasonal programs of 10 days or less duration in any 3-month period, including day 
camps, vacation bible schools and holiday child care programs. 

(f) Care and supervision in emergency situations. 
(g) Care and supervision while the child’s parent is employed on the premises if the child 

receives care and supervision for no more than 3 hours a day. 
Note: Section 48.65, Stats., exempts parents, guardians and certain other relatives; public and 

parochial (private) schools; persons who come to the home of the child’s parent to provide care for 
less than 24 hours per day; and counties, cities, towns, villages, school districts, and libraries that 
provide programs for children primarily intended for social or recreational purposes from the 
requirement of a license. 

(2) EXCEPTION TO A REQUIREMENT. The department may grant an exception to a 
requirement of this chapter when it is demonstrated to the satisfaction of the department 
that granting the exception will not jeopardize the health, safety or welfare of any child 
served by the center. A request for an exception shall be in writing, shall be sent to the 
department and shall include justification for the requested action and a description of any 
alternative provision planned to meet the intent of the requirement. 

Note: A request for an exception to a requirement of this chapter should be sent to the licensing 
representative at the appropriate field office of the Department’s Division of Early Care and Education. 
See Appendix A for addresses of the regional offices. 
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DCF 251.03 Definitions. In this chapter: 

(1g) Abusive head trauma” means a serious type of head injury, including shaken baby 
syndrome, that is caused by shaking, throwing, hitting, slamming, or jerking. 

(1r) “Administrator” means the person responsible to the licensee for management of 
the group child care center. 

(2) “Assistant child care teacher” means a child care worker who works under the 
supervision of a child care teacher and who meets the qualifications under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (g). 

(2m) “Background check request form” means a form prescribed by the department on 
which a person completes required information for the child care background check under s. 
48.686, Stats., and ch. DCF 13.  

Note: Form DCF-F-5296, Background Check Request, is available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

(3) “Care” means providing for the safety and the developmental needs of a child in a 
group child care center. 

(4) “Center director” means the person who is responsible to the licensee for the 
supervision of the center’s program for children and for the supervision of the center’s staff 
and who meets the qualifications under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (e). 

(4g) “Center-provided transportation” means transportation provided in a vehicle owned, 
leased or contracted for by the center or in volunteer or staff-owned vehicles regardless of 
whether the driver is reimbursed for the use of the vehicle. 

(4m) “Center-provided vehicle” means a vehicle owned or leased by the center or a 
vehicle owned by the licensee or an employee that is used to transport children, but does not 
include a vehicle owned and driven by a parent or volunteer. 

(4r) “Child care background check” means the requirements in s. 48.686, Stats., and ch. 
DCF 13. 

(5) “Child care teacher” means a child care worker who plans, implements, and 
supervises the daily activities for a designated group of children and who meets the 
qualifications under s. DCF 251.05(3)(f). 

(6) “Child care worker” means in a group child care center, a child care teacher or 
assistant child care teacher, or in a school-age program, a school-age program leader or 
school-age group leader. 

(8) “Complaint” means an allegation that a provision of this chapter or of ch. 48, Stats., 
has been violated. 

(8g) “Credit” means recognition for completing a course from an institution of higher 
education. 

(8r) “Crib” means a bed for an infant or young child that is enclosed on 4 sides including 
play pens and portable cribs. 

(9) “Department” means the Wisconsin department of children and families.

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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251.03(10) 

(10) “Division” means the department’s division of early care and education. 

(10g) “Early childhood education” means the teaching of children who are 8 years of age 
or less. 

(10m) “Emergency” means unforeseen circumstances that require immediate attention. 

(10s) “EPSDT provider” means a provider of health assessment and evaluation services 
that is eligible to be certified under s. DHS 105.37 (1) (a). 

(11) “Field trip” means any experience a child has away from the premises of the center, 
while under the care of center staff, whether a child walks or is transported. 

(11g) “Fit and qualified” means displaying the capacity to successfully nurture and care 
for children and may include consideration of any of the following: 

(a) Abuse of alcohol or drugs. 
(b) A history of a civil or criminal conviction or administrative rule violation that is 

substantially related to the care of children, as determined under s. DCF 13.05. 
(c) Exercise of unsound judgment. 
(d) A history of civil or criminal offenses or any other action that demonstrate an inability 

to manage financial resources or the activities of a center. 

(11r) “Full day center” means a center that accepts children for care for 5 or more 
consecutive hours in a day. 

(12) “Group” means a specific number of children who have a regularly assigned child 
care worker and who are cared for in the same self-contained room or area at the center. 

(13) “Group child care center” or “center” means a facility where a person for less than 
24 hours a day provides care and supervision for 9 or more children who are not related to 
the provider. 

(13m) “Hazard” means a potential source of harm that can jeopardize the health, safety 
or well-being of children in care. 

(14) “Hours of operation” means the hours within the terms of the license during which 
children are actually in the care of the center. 

(14g) “In care” means the center is providing supervision, either on or off the premises, 
including during center-provided transportation, for the safety and the developmental needs 
of the child or children. 

(14r) “Inclement weather” means stormy or severe weather such as any of the following: 
(a) Heavy rain. 
(b) Temperatures above 90 degrees Fahrenheit. 
(c) Wind chills of 0 degrees Fahrenheit or below for children age 2 and above. 
(d) Wind chills of 20 degrees Fahrenheit or below for children under age 2. 

(15) “Infant” means a child under one year of age. 
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(16) “Institution of higher education” means an educational institution which meets all of 
the following criteria except, in the case of a business school or technical institution, par. (c): 

(a) Admits as regular students only persons having a certificate of graduation from a 
school providing secondary education, or the recognized equivalent of such a certificate; 

(b) Is legally authorized to provide a program of education beyond secondary education; 
(c) Provides an education program for which it awards a bachelor’s degree or provides 

not less than a 2-year program which is acceptable for full credit toward that degree; and 
(d) Is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency or association or, if not 

accredited, is an institution whose credits are accepted, on transfer, by not less than 3 
institutions which are accredited, for credit on the same basis as if transferred from an 
institution that is accredited. 

(16m) “Licensed hours” means the authorized hours specified on the license certificate 
and letter of transmittal within which the center may provide child care services. 

(17) “Licensee” means the corporation, individual, partnership, limited liability company, 
or non-incorporated association or cooperative that has legal and financial responsibility for 
the operation of a child care center and for meeting the requirements of this chapter. 

(18) “Licensing representative” means a department employee responsible for licensing 
group child care centers. 

(19) “Night care” means any care that is offered by a licensed group child care center 
between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. 

(20) “Parent” means either “parent” as defined in s. 48.02 (13), Stats., or “guardian” as 
defined in s. 48.02 (8), Stats. 

(21) “Parent cooperative” means a center organized by parents for their preschool 
children in which the parents have decision-making authority to establish and change policy, 
program and personnel practices.  

(22) “Parochial or private school” means an educational program which meets all the 
criteria specified under s. 118.165 (1), Stats., or as determined by the superintendent of 
public instruction under s. 118.167, Stats. 

(22g) “Part day center” means a center where a defined group of children attend for a 
specified period of time that is less than 5 consecutive hours in length. 

(22r) “Physical Restraint” means the use of physical force to restrict the free movement 
of all or part of a child’s body. 

(23) “Physician” has the meaning prescribed in s. 448.01 (5), Stats. 

(24) “Physician assistant” has the meaning prescribed in s. 448.01 (6), Stats. 

(25) “Premises” means the tract of land on which a center is located, including all 
buildings and structures on that land. 

(25m) “Program aide” means a person who works under the supervision of a child care 
teacher and assists with daily activities and maintenance of the program, such as preparing 
and participating in program activities and cleaning the premises. 
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251.03(26) 

(26) “Regularly assigned child care worker” means a child care worker who is assigned 
to a specific group of children in a self-contained room or area. 

(26m) “Representative of the department” means a department employee or a 
representative from an agency the department contracts with to provide pre-licensing 
services. 

(26r) “School-age administrator” means a person who is responsible for the overall 
organizational management, including personnel, finance, physical plant, and the 
implementation of policies and procedures for a school-age program. 

(27) “School-age child” means a child 5 years of age or older who is enrolled in a public 
school or a parochial or other private school. 

(27c) “School-age director” means a person who is responsible for the management and 
implementation of the program for the school-age children; supervision of the staff, 
including recruitment, hiring, and training; oversight for regulatory compliance; and 
development of policies and procedures. 

(27g) “School-age group leader” means a person who works under the supervision of a 
school-age program leader and helps plan, implement, and supervise daily activities for a 
designated group of school-age children. 

(27n) “School-age program” means a program in a group child care center that serves 
only school-age children before and after school, on non-school days, and during the 
summer. 

(27r) “School-age program aide” means a person who works under the direct 
supervision of a school-age program leader and assists with daily activities and 
maintenance of the school-age program, such as preparing and participating in program 
activities and cleaning the premises. 

(27w) “School-age program leader” means a person who plans, implements, and 
supervises the daily activities for a designated group of school-age children, communicates 
with families, works with the community, and coordinates staff in a school-age program. 

(28) “Self-contained room or area” means a room separated by permanent walls or an 
area separated by permanent or portable partitions or dividers acting as a visual barrier for 
children which is reserved for a group of children and contains the indoor equipment and 
furnishings required for that group. 

(28m) “Shaken baby syndrome” or “SBS” means a severe form of brain injury that occurs 
when an infant or young child is shaken or thrown forcibly enough to cause the brain to 
rebound against his or her skull. 

(29) “Sleeping bag” means a padded fabric bag that is closed or capable of being closed 
on three sides. 

(29g) “Substitute” means a person who replaces a regularly scheduled person and 
meets the requirements under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (i). 
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251.03(29m) 

(29m) “Sudden infant death syndrome” or “SIDS” means the sudden death of an infant 
under one year of age that remains unexplained after a thorough case investigation, 
including performance of a complete autopsy, examination of the death scene and a review 
of the clinical history. 

(30) “Supervision of children” means guidance of the behavior and activities of children 
for their health, safety and well-being by child care workers who are within sight and sound 
of the children. 

(31) “Supervision of staff” means guidance of the behavior and activities of center 
employees which may include provision of instructions to carry out activities for limited 
periods of time out of sight or hearing of the supervisor. 

(32) “Toddler” means a child at least one year of age but less than 2 years of age. 

(33) “Universal precautions” means measures taken to prevent transmission of infection 
from contact with blood or other potentially infectious material, as recommended by the U.S. 
public health services centers for disease control and adopted by the U.S. occupational 
safety and health administration (OSHA) as 29 CFR 1910.1030. 

Note: “Standard precautions” for infection control measures incorporate universal precautions. 
Information on the OSHA requirements related to standard or universal precautions is available on 
the OSHA web site at http://www.osha.gov. Information is also available from the Child Care 
Information Center, 1-800-362-7353. 

(34) “Volunteer” means a person who is not paid, but agrees to give time, with or without 
reimbursement for expenses, to transport children attending a group child care center or to 
work in a group child care center. 

(35) “Wading pool” means a shallow pool, with sides 15 inches or less in height, capable 
of being dumped to change water and used primarily for small children. 

 

http://www.osha.gov/
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DCF 251.04 Operational requirements. 

(1) TERMS OF A LICENSE.  
(a) The number of children in care at any one time may not exceed the licensed capacity 

of the center. 
(b) The age of children served by a center may not be younger or older than the age 

range specified in the license.  
(c) The hours, days and months of a center’s operation may not exceed those specified 

in the license.  

(2) ADMINISTRATION. A group child care center licensee shall do all of the following:  
(a) Comply with all laws governing the facility and its operation.  
Note: Under the state public accommodation law s. 106.52 (3), Stats., federal law related to use 

of federal funding, and some local anti-discrimination ordinances, denying admission on the basis of 
race, disability, religion, or certain other characteristics may be illegal.  

(b) Comply with all requirements of this chapter. 
(bm) Comply with all conditions placed on the license. 
(c) Ensure that all information provided to the department is current and accurate. 
(d) If residing in another state, designate in writing, as part of the application under s. 

DCF 251.11 (2) and (3), a Wisconsin resident who is responsible on behalf of the licensee 
for ensuring compliance with all requirements of this chapter. 

(e) Meet, upon request of the department, with a licensing representative on matters 
pertaining to the license. 

(f) Prior to receiving or continuing a license, complete all application forms and pay all 
fees and forfeitures due to the department. 

(g) Submit to the department a certificate of insurance that meets the following 
conditions: 

1. The certificate of insurance shall have coverage dates for all of the following types of 
insurance:  

a. General liability insurance with limits of not less than $25,000 for each person and not 
less than $75,000 for each occurrence.   

b. Vehicle liability insurance with minimums not less than the amounts specified under 
s. 121.53, Stats., if transportation is provided by the center.  

c. Vehicle liability insurance for non-owned vehicles with minimums not less than the 
amounts specified under s. 121.53, Stats., if transportation is provided in vehicles that are 
not owned by the center and are not public transportation vehicles or chartered vehicles.  

2. The certificate of insurance shall indicate that pets are included in the liability 
coverage if cats or dogs are permitted in areas of the center accessible to children during 
the hours of operation. 

(h) Develop, submit to the department, and implement written policies consistent with 
the requirements of this chapter on all of the following subjects:  

1. Fee payments and refunds.  
2. Personnel, including job descriptions, hours of work, lunch and break times, holidays, 

vacations, sick leaves, leaves of absence, probationary periods, performance evaluations, 
grievance procedures and the disciplinary process. The personnel policy shall contain a 
procedure that requires staff to notify the licensee and the licensee to notify the department 
as soon as possible but no later than the next business day when any of the following 
occurs:  

a. The employee has been convicted of a crime. 
b. The employee has been or is being investigated by any governmental agency for any 

other act, offense, or omission, including an investigation related to the abuse or neglect or 
threat of abuse or neglect, to a child or other client, or an investigation related to 
misappropriation of a client’s property. 
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c. The employee has a substantiated governmental finding against them for abuse or 
neglect of a child or adult or for misappropriation of a client’s property. 

d. When a professional license held by an employee has been denied, revoked, restricted 
or otherwise limited. 

3. Discharge of enrolled children.  
4. Admission.  
5. Health care. If the center is licensed to care for children under one year of age, the 

policies shall include procedures to reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome.  
6. Education.  
7. Nutrition, including accommodating children with food allergies.   
8. Child guidance, including appropriate ways to manage crying, fussing, or distraught 

children.  
9. Emergency plans to be followed in the event of a fire, tornado, missing child, or other 

emergency.  
10. Continuing education for staff.  
11. Orientation of new staff and volunteers.  
12. Transportation, if the center will transport children either on field trips or on a regular 

schedule. The policy shall include a procedure to ensure that no child is left unattended in a 
vehicle.  

(j) Ensure that all published statements such as brochures and publicity releases are 
accurate.  

(k) Post the child care license near the entrance or in some other conspicuous area of 
the center that is visible to the public.  

(L)1. Post next to the child care license all of the following:  
a. The current licensing statement of compliance or a noncompliance statement and 

correction plan, including any rule violations the department has not verified as corrected 
and in compliance.  

b. Any notice from the department regarding rule violations, such as a warning letter or 
enforcement action. 

c. Any stipulations, conditions, temporary closures, exceptions, or exemptions that affect 
the license.  

2. All items posted as required under this paragraph shall be visible to parents. 
(m) Ensure that any action, by commission or omission, or any condition or occurrence 

relating to the operation or maintenance of the child care center does not adversely affect 
the health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the licensee. 

(n) Submit to the department by the department’s next business day a completed 
background check request form if any of the following occurs:  

1. A change in the board president or chairperson.  
2. A corporation or limited liability company designates a new person to be subject to 

the background check.  
3. A household member turns 18 years of age, unless the household member has 

previously submitted a background check request form.  
4. A household member turns age 10 years of age. 
(o) Submit to the department a completed background check request form for each 

potential household member prior to the date on which the person becomes a household 
member, unless the person is less than 10 years of age. 

Note: The Background Check Request form is available electronically through the Child Care 
Provider Portal or at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms. A paper version is available from any regional 
licensing office listed in Appendix A. 

(p) Submit a current delegation of administrative authority signed by the licensee that 
outlines the organizational structure and designates, in a chain of command form, those 
persons on the premises in charge of the center for all hours of operation. 
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/forms
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(3) REPORTS. The licensee shall report to the department all of the following. If the report 
is made by telephone, the licensee shall submit a written report to the appropriate regional 
licensing office within 5 business days of the incident. Fax, e-mail, and letter are acceptable 
ways of filing a written report:  

(a) Any incident or accident that occurs while the child is in the care of the center that 
results in professional medical evaluation within 24 hours of the licensee becoming aware 
of the medical evaluation.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Incident Report — Child Care Centers, 
or the licensee’s own form to report incidents or accidents. The form is available on the department’s 
website, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

(am) Any death of a child in care, within 24 hours after the death.  
Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Incident Report - Child Care Centers, or 

the licensee’s own form to report the death of a child in care. The department’s form is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

(ar) Any injury caused by an animal to a child in care, within 24 hours after the incident. 
(b) Any damage to the premises that may affect compliance with this chapter, or any 

incident at the premises that results in the loss of utility services, within 24 hours after the 
occurrence. 

(c) A change in the administrator or center director of a child care center, within 30 days 
after the change.  

(d) A change of any program service, including expected temporary closures lasting 
more than 2 weeks, at least 5 days prior to the change.  

(dm) Unexpected closures lasting more than 2 weeks, within 24 hours after the center 
has been closed for a 2-week period. 

(e) Statistical data required by the department on forms provided by the department. 
(f) If requested by the department, a plan of correction for cited violations of this chapter 

or ch. 48, Stats., in a format specified by the department. The department shall receive the 
plan of correction by the date the department specifies and be approved by the department 
licensing representative.  

Note: The licensing representative will notify the licensee if a plan of correction is required and 
provide the plan of correction format with the notification. 

(g) Any known convictions, pending charges or other offenses of the licensee, group 
child care center employees or other person subject to a child care background check that 
could potentially relate to the care of children at the center or activities of the center by the 
department’s next business day.  

(h) Any change in room usage, such as changing the way rooms are primarily used by 
children or using rooms not previously approved for use at least 20 working days prior to the 
change. Changes in room usage shall be approved by the department prior to the change.  

(i) Any incident related to a child who leaves the premises of the center without the 
knowledge of the provider or any incident that results in a provider not knowing the 
whereabouts of a child in attendance at the center within 24 hours of the occurrence. 

(j) Any suspected abuse or neglect of a child by an employee or volunteer that was 
reported under s. DCF 251.04 (8), including any incident that results in a child being 
forcefully shaken or thrown against a surface, hard or soft, during the child’s hours of 
attendance, within 24 hours after the occurrence. 

(jm) Any prohibited actions specified in s. DCF 251.07 (2) (e) by an employee or 
volunteer to a child in care, within 24 hours after the incident. 

(k) Any incident involving law enforcement within 24 hours after the occurrence that: 
1. Involves a licensee, a household resident or an employee of the center in an incident 

that causes, or threatens to cause, physical or serious emotional harm to an individual, 
including a child in the care of the center. 
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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2. Involves any traffic-related incident where a person responsible for the violation 
transports children in the care of the center. 

(L) Any construction or remodeling on the premises that has the potential to affect an 
area accessible to children or a condition of the license. Notification shall be provided in 
writing before the construction or remodeling begins.  

Note: See s. DCF 251.11 (5) (a) for items that affect a condition of the license.  
Note: Alterations, additions, or changes of use to commercial buildings may require submittal of 

plans to and approval by the Department of Safety and Professional Services or its agent before 
commencing construction. It is recommended that an architect or engineer be consulted prior to the 
beginning of any construction or remodeling to determine whether plans must be submitted. 

(m) Any confirmed case of a communicable disease reportable under ch. DHS 145 in a 
child enrolled at the center or a person in contact with children at the center, within 24 hours 
after the center is notified of the diagnosis. The licensee shall also notify the local health 
department within 24 hours after the center is notified of the diagnosis.  

(n) Any change in meal preparation arrangements, at least 5 calendar days before the 
change. Centers adding meal preparation after an initial license has been issued shall 
document compliance with building codes related to kitchens before beginning to prepare 
meals on the premises.  

(o) Any change in transportation services, at least 5 calendar days prior to the change.  

(4) PARENTS. 
(a) The center administrator shall notify the parents of an enrolled child of all of the 

following: 
1. The child has been exposed to a confirmed case of a communicable disease 

reportable under ch. DHS 145 and transmitted through normal contact. Notification shall 
occur when the information becomes known to the center. 

2. Notification shall be made immediately and shall provide sufficient detail to 
reasonably apprise the parent in all of the following situations:  

a. The child becomes ill.  
b. The child needs professional evaluation of an injury.  
c. The child experiences a head injury, has a seizure, consumes incorrect breastmilk, 

consumes food or drink that may contain the child’s allergen, consumes or comes in 
contact with poisonous materials, or is given incorrect medication. For purposes of this 
subd. 2. C., a “head injury” means a bump, blow, or jolt to the head.  

d. The child’s whereabouts are unknown to the assigned provider.  
e. The child was subject to child guidance that is prohibited under s. DCF 251.07 (2) (e) 

and (f). 
3. The child has sustained a minor injury that does not appear to require professional 

medical evaluation. Notification may be made when the child is picked up at the center or 
delivered to the parent or other authorized person.  

4. The child will be going on a field trip that is not part of the regularly scheduled 
program. Notification of the date, time, and destination shall be prior to the field trip.  

(b) The center shall permit parents to visit and observe at any time during the center’s 
hours of operation, unless access is prohibited or restricted by court order.  

(c) The center shall offer conferences at least twice each year for parent and staff 
communication regarding the child’s adjustment to the program and the child’s growth and 
development.  

Note: When a child care worker or a parent has concerns about a child’s growth or development, 
a referral to a Birth-to-Three agency or the local public school should be considered to determine if 
the child is eligible for special services. Wisconsin has an information and referral service for persons 
with questions or concerns about a child’s development called Well Badger Resource Center that is 
available to the public 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. When a call is placed to Well Badger Resource 
Center at 1-800-642-7837, the caller will learn about early intervention services as well as other 
related services in the area. 
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(d) The center shall notify parents of any religious training that is part of the center’s 
program. The reference to the religious component shall be included in any publicity and in 
the education policy.  

(e) The center shall provide a summary of this chapter to the parents of each child upon 
the child’s enrollment. 

Note: Copies of a summary of this chapter may be obtained from the Child Care Information 
Center, www.ccic.wi.gov, 1-800-362-7353. 

(f) A copy of this chapter shall be posted or available in an area of the center where 
parents are likely to see it. 

(g) A copy of the child care policies of the center shall be made available to the parents 
in an area of the center accessible to parents. Personnel policies need not be included.  

(6) CHILDREN’S RECORDS.  
(a) The licensee shall maintain a current written record obtained prior to the child’s first 

day of attendance or subsequent re-enrollment at the center on each child enrolled and shall 
make the record available to the licensing representative on request. Each record shall 
include all of the following: 

1. Enrollment information consisting of: 
a. The name and birthdate of the child. 
b. The full names of the child’s parents. 
c. The child’s home address and telephone number. 
d. An address and telephone number where a parent can be reached while the child is in 

care. 
e. The name, address, telephone number and relationship to the child of a person to be 

notified in an emergency when a parent cannot be reached immediately. 
f. The name, address and telephone number of a physician or medical facility caring for 

the child. 
g. The names, addresses and telephone numbers of persons other than a parent 

authorized to call for the child or to accept the child who is dropped off. 
h. The child’s first day of attendance at the center. 
2. Written consent from the parent for emergency medical care or treatment.  
Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, or the licensee’s 

own form to obtain consent of the child’s parent for emergency medical treatment. Information on 
how to obtain the department’s form is available on the department’s website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

4. Authorization from the parent for the child to participate in field trips and other off-
premises activities, if these are part of the center’s program.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Field Trip or Other Activity Notification / 
Permission, the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, or the licensee’s own form for securing 
parental permission. Forms are available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

5. Authorization from the parent outlining the plan for a child to come to the center from 
school, home or other activities or to go from the center to school, home or other activities 
unless the child is accompanied by a parent or other authorized person or transported by the 
center.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Alternate Arrival/Release Agreement — 
Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for securing the parent’s authorization. Information on 
how to obtain the department’s form is available on the department’s website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

6. Health history information that includes all the following: 
a. The name and birthdate of the child. 
b. The full names of the child’s parents. 
c. A telephone number where the parent can be reached while the child is in care. 

  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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d. The name, address, and telephone number of the physician or medical facility caring 
for the child. 

e. The child’s medical conditions, such as asthma, cerebral palsy, diabetes, epilepsy, 
food allergies, or gastrointestinal or feeding concerns. If the child has a milk allergy, a 
statement from a medical professional indicating an acceptable alternative. 

f. If the child has a medical condition, triggers that may cause a problem, signs or 
symptoms for the child care worker to watch for, steps a child care worker should follow, 
when to call a parent regarding symptoms, when the condition requires emergency medical 
care, and identification of all child care workers who have received specialized training or 
instructions to help treat symptoms. 

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS2345, Health History and 
Emergency Care Plan, or the licensee’s own form for obtaining the information. 

6m. Documentation that indicates the child’s immunization history is in compliance with 
s. 252.04, Stats., and ch. DHS 144.  

Note: To record immunization information, use either an electronic printout from the Wisconsin 
Immunization Registry or other registry maintained by a health care provider or the Department of 
Health Services Form F-44192, Child Care Immunization Record. The form is available on the 
department’s website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

7. Specific informed written consent from the parent for each incident of participation by 
a child in any research or testing project.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Informed Consent for Observation or 
Testing by an Outside Agency — Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for securing the 
parent’s written consent. Information on how to obtain the department’s form is available on the 
department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

8. Documentation of each child’s most recent physical examination in accordance with 
the following schedule:  

a. Each child under 2 years of age shall have an initial health examination not more than 
6 months prior to nor more than 3 months after being admitted to the center, and a follow-
up examination at least once every 6 months thereafter.  

b. Each child who is at least 2 years of age but who is not 5 years of age or older shall 
have an initial health examination not more than one year prior to nor later than 3 months 
after being admitted to a center, and a follow-up health examination at least once every 2 
years thereafter.  

c. Children 5 years of age and older are not required to have a health exam.  
d. A health examination report shall be made on an electronic printout from a licensed 

physician, physician assistant, or other EPSDT provider or on a form provided by the 
department that is signed and dated by a licensed physician, physician assistant, or other 
EPSDT provider.  

Note: To document a health examination, use either an electronic printout from a medical 
professional or the department’s Form DCF-F-CFS0060, Child Health Report — Child Care Centers. The 
department’s form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

 (b) The licensee shall maintain a current, accurate written record of the daily attendance 
and date of birth of each child for the length of time the child is enrolled in the program. The 
actual time of arrival and departure for each child shall be recorded if hours of arrival and 
departure vary among children.  

Note: The form, Daily Attendance Record — Child Care, may be used to record a child’s daily 
attendance. Information on how to obtain the department’s form is available on the department’s 
website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

(c) If children are transported by the center to or from the child’s home or school, the 
licensee shall maintain a daily attendance record that includes the actual time the child was 
picked up or dropped off.  
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(7) CONFIDENTIALITY. The licensee is responsible for the compliance of child care center 
employees and volunteers with s. 48.78, Stats., and this subsection. The licensee shall 
ensure that:  

(a) Persons having access to children’s records do not discuss or disclose personal 
information regarding the children and facts learned about the children and their relatives. 
This does not apply to:  

1. The parent or a person authorized in writing by the parent to receive the information.  
2. Any agency assisting in planning for the child when informed written parental consent 

has been given. 
3. Agencies authorized under s. 48.78, Stats. 
(b) A parent, upon request, has access to all records and reports maintained on his or 

her child.  
(c) All records required by the department under this chapter for licensing purposes are 

available to the licensing representative. 

(8) REPORTING CHILD ABUSE OR NEGLECT. A licensee, employee or volunteer at a child care 
center who knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that a child has been abused or 
neglected as defined in ss. 48.02 (1) and 48.981 (1), Stats., shall immediately contact 
the county department of social services or human services or a local law enforcement 
agency, as required by s. 48.981, Stats.  
Note: Child care workers are required to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect as 

specified above. Reporting to the licensee does not lessen this legal duty if the licensee fails to report 
as specified above. Information related to child abuse or neglect may be obtained from the Child Care 
Information Center, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic, 1-800-362-7353. 

Note 2: See s. DCF 251.04 (3) (j) on reporting suspected abuse of a child by a staff member to 
the department. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic
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(1) DEFINITION. In this section, the “Wisconsin Registry” means a brand of The Registry, 
Inc., a professional development recognition agency.  

Note: For further information, see https://www.wiregistry.org.  

(2) STAFF RECORDS. 
(a) The licensee shall maintain a file on each employee or contracted employee. The file 

shall be available for examination by the licensing representative at the center and shall 
include all of the following:  

1. The employee’s name, address, date of birth, education, position, previous work 
experience in child care, including the reason for leaving previous positions, and the name, 
address, and telephone numbers of persons to be notified in an emergency.  

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Staff Record - Child Care Centers, or the 
licensee’s own form for recording staff information. The form is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

2. Documentation from the department, either paper or electronic, that indicates a child 
care background check was completed in compliance with the timelines and requirements 
specified in s. 48.686, Stats., and ch. DCF 13 and the person is eligible to work in a child care 
program.  

Note: Information on child care background checks is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccbgcheck.  

3. a. A report on a physical examination that was completed not more than 12 months 
prior to nor more than 30 days after the person was hired. The physical examination report 
may be a printout of an electronic record from a medical professional or on a form provided 
by the department. The report shall be signed and dated by a licensed physician, physician’s 
assistant, or other EPSDT provider. The report shall indicate that the person is free from 
illnesses detrimental to children, including tuberculosis, and that the person is physically 
able to work with young children.  

b. The health examination requirement in subd. 3. a. does not apply to a provider who requests 
an exemption based on the provider’s adherence to religious belief in exclusive use of prayer or 
spiritual means for healing in accordance with a bona fide religious sect or denomination.  

Note: The department’s form, Staff Health Report - Child Care Centers, is used for recording 
physical examination information. Forms are available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

4. a. A certificate from the Wisconsin Registry documenting that the person has met the 
educational qualifications for the position under sub. (3) if the person has worked as a 
teacher, director, or administrator at the center for at least 6 months. A copy of an 
educator’s license issued by the department of public instruction as a teacher may 
substitute for a certificate from the Wisconsin Registry.  

b. For school-age administrators, school-age directors, and school-age program leaders 
who have been in the position for 6 months or more, a certificate from the Wisconsin 
Registry.  

d. For persons not required to have a certificate from the Wisconsin Registry, including 
assistant child care teachers, program aides, school-age group leaders, school-age program 
aides, meal preparation personnel, substitutes, volunteers, and student teachers and a child 
care teacher, center director, administrator, school-age administrator, school-age director, or 
school-age program leader who has not worked for the center for more than 6 months, 
documentation of the person’s educational qualifications.  

Note: Information about how to obtain a certificate may be obtained from the Wisconsin 
Registry’s website, http://www.wiregistry.org or by calling 608-222-1123.  

5. For persons required to have a high school diploma or its equivalent, documentation 
of a high school diploma or its equivalent as determined by the Wisconsin department of 
public instruction. 
  

https://www.wiregistry.org/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccbgcheck
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
http://www.wiregistry.org/
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6. Documentation of days and hours worked, and in which classroom, when the person 
was included in the staff-to-child ratio shall be maintained by the center.  

7. Documentation of compliance with continuing education requirements under sub. (4) (c).  
8. Documentation of compliance with orientation requirements under subd. (4) (a).  
(b) A licensee shall maintain a file on each student teacher and each adult who works at 

the center and is compensated for their work from a source other than the center. The file 
shall contain the information specified in par. (a) 1., 2., and 3. 

(3) QUALIFICATIONS OF STAFF.  
(a) Competency. A child care worker, center administrator, center director, and 

volunteers counted in staff-to-child ratio shall be physically, mentally, and emotionally able 
to provide responsible care for all children, including children with disabilities.  

(b) Training on preventing abusive head trauma.  Each child care worker, center 
administrator, center director, volunteer counted in staff-to-child ratio, or substitute who 
provides care and supervision to children under 5 years of age shall document completion 
of department−approved training in abusive head trauma, and appropriate ways to manage 
crying, fussing, or distraught children prior to beginning to work with children under 5 years 
of age.  

Note: Department−approved training in the prevention of abusive head trauma is included in the 
department−approved non−credit courses called Introduction to the Child Care Profession and 
Fundamentals of Infant and Toddler or the credit-based course called Health, Safety and Nutrition 
offered by a Wisconsin technical college, if the course was taken after 7/1/05.  

(c) Cardiopulmonary resuscitation training. All employees in regular contact with children 
shall obtain, maintain and place in the employee’s file a current certificate of completion for 
infant and child cardiopulmonary resuscitation and automated external defibrillator use from 
an agency approved by the department within 3 months after beginning to work with children 
in care. Volunteers included in determining staff−to−child ratios shall obtain a certificate of 
completion in infant and child cardiopulmonary resuscitation after volunteering for 240 
cumulative hours. The time spent obtaining or renewing cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
training may be counted towards the required continuing education hours.  

(cm) Training on child abuse and neglect reporting requirements. Within one week after 
beginning work at the center and at least every 2 years thereafter, each employee or 
volunteer who comes in contact with children in care shall complete training in all of the 
following: 

1. Child abuse and neglect laws. 
2. How to identify children who have been abused or neglected. 
3. The procedure for ensuring that all known or suspected cases of child abuse or 

neglect are immediately reported to the proper authorities. 
(d) Administrator.  
1. The licensee may act as administrator of a group child care center. If the licensee 

does not act as administrator, the licensee shall designate a person or persons to be the 
administrator or administrators of the center. The administrator shall be responsible for the 
center’s management, including personnel, finance, physical plant, and the day-to-day 
operation of the center.  

2. An administrator, including a licensee that is an administrator, shall meet all of the 
following conditions:  

a. Be at least 21 years of age.  
b. Have completed high school or its equivalent, as determined by the Wisconsin 

department of public instruction.  
3. Before a person assumes the position of administrator, the person shall have all of the 

following:  
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a. One year of experience as a manager or satisfactory completion of a noncredit 
department−approved course or of 2 credits in business or program administration.  

b. One year of experience as a center director, as a child care teacher in a group child 
care center or kindergarten, or as a licensee of a family child care center under ch. DCF 250; 
or satisfactory completion of a non−credit department−approved course or of 2 credits in 
early childhood education or its equivalent.  

4. If the board of a parent cooperative is responsible for management of a center, the 
requirements under subds. 2. and 3. do not apply. 

5. Within one year of assuming the position, each administrator shall complete at least 
10 hours of training in supervision or personnel management, if the administrator has not 
previously received that training. The training may be counted as part of the annual 
continuing education requirement.  

(e) Center director.  
1. a. A licensee with the applicable qualifications in this paragraph may act as the center 

director.  
b. If the licensee does not act as center director, the licensee shall designate a person or 

persons to be the center director.  
c. No person may act as the center director for more than 2 full-day or 4 part-day centers.  
2. The center director shall be responsible for the supervision of the planning and 

implementation of the center’s program for children, the supervision of staff at the center, 
staff meetings and orientation, and continuing education for staff.  

3. A center director for a program licensed to serve 50 or fewer children shall meet all of 
the following conditions:  

a. Be at least 21 years of age.  
b. Have completed high school or its equivalent as determined by the Wisconsin 

department of public instruction.  
c. Have at least 240 hours of experience as a teacher or assistant teacher in a group 

child care center or other approved setting or have at least 240 hours of experience as a 
licensee or provider of a family child care center under ch. DCF 250.  

d. Have completed at least one of the preservice training requirements in Table 251.05A 
prior to beginning work as a center director, except as specified in subd. 5. a. The center director 
shall also complete any additional training requirements in Table 251.05A as provided.  

Note: Additional qualifications for school-age only directors are in s. DCF 251.095. 
 

TABLE 251.05A 
Director of a center licensed to care for 50 or fewer children 

Preservice training  Additional training  
Four credits in early childhood education.  Within one year of assuming the position, 

one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential or its equivalent  

The Registry Program Development Credential  Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential or its equivalent  

The Registry Preschool Credential  Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential or its equivalent  

The Registry Infant Toddler Credential  Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential  

Two non-credit department-approved courses in early 
childhood education.  

Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential or its equivalent  
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Preservice training Additional training 

One noncredit department-approved course and 2 
credits in early childhood education.  

Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential or its equivalent  

Forty-eight credits from an accredited institution of 
higher education with at least 3 credits in early 
childhood education  

Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Wisconsin Child Care 
Registry Administrator Credential or its 
equivalent  

A Child Development Associate (CDA) credential 
issued by the Council for Professional Recognition  

Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential or its equivalent  

A certificate from the Wisconsin Registry indicating 
the person is preliminarily qualified as a director for a 
center licensed to care for 50 or fewer children  

Within one year of assuming the position, 
one course in the Registry Administrator 
Credential or its equivalent  

A one-year diploma in child care or early childhood 
education from an accredited institution of higher 
education  

No additional training required  

An associate degree in early childhood education or 
child care from an accredited institution of higher 
education  

No additional training required  

A bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution of 
higher education in early childhood education, 
education, or child development  

No additional training required  

A license issued by the Wisconsin department of 
public instruction or the appropriate authority in 
another state indicating that the person is qualified to 
act as a pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, or early 
childhood regular or special education teacher. The 
license may not be a one-year license with stipulations 
(formerly known as an emergency license); a 3-year, 
short-term substitute license; or a 5-year long-term 
substitute license, as defined by the Wisconsin 
department of public instruction. 

No additional training required 

4. A center director for a program licensed to serve 51 or more children shall meet all of 
the following conditions:  

a. Be at least 21 years of age.  
b. Have completed high school or its equivalent, as determined by the Wisconsin 

department of public instruction. 
c. Have at least 2 years of experience as a child care teacher or center director in a 

group child care center or other approved setting.  
d. Have completed one of the preservice training requirements in Table 251.05B prior to 

beginning work as a center director, except as specified in subd. 5. b. The center director 
shall also complete any additional training requirements in Table 251.05B as provided. 
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TABLE 251.05B 
Director of a center licensed to care for 51 or more children 

Preservice Training Additional Training 
Eight credits in early childhood education from an institution 
of higher education. Up to 2 courses in the Registry 
Administrator Credential series may be used to meet the 
early childhood education requirement if taken prior to 
beginning to work as a center director 

Within 3 years of assuming the 
position the Registry Administrator 
Credential  

The Registry Program Development Credential  Within 3 years of assuming the 
position, the Registry Administrator 
Credential  

The Wisconsin Registry Preschool Credential  Within 3 years of assuming the 
position, the Registry Administrator 
Credential  

The Registry Infant – Toddler Credential  Within 3 years of assuming the 
position, the Registry Administrator 
Credential  

A combination of 4 credits and 2 noncredit department-
approved courses in early childhood education. Up to 2 
courses in the Registry Administrator Credential series may 
be used to meet the early childhood education requirement if 
taken prior to beginning to work as a center director.  

Within 3 years of assuming the 
position, the Registry Administrator 
Credential  

A certificate from The Wisconsin Registry indicating that the 
person is preliminarily qualified as a director for a center 
licensed to care for 51 or more children  

Within 3 years of assuming the 
position, the Registry Administrator 
Credential  

An associate degree in early childhood education or child 
care from an accredited institution of higher education.  

No additional training required  

A bachelor’s degree in early childhood education, education, 
or child development from an accredited institution of higher 
education 

No additional training required 

A license issued by the Wisconsin department of public 
instruction or the appropriate authority in another state to be 
a pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, or early childhood regular or 
special education teacher. The license may not be a one-year 
license with stipulations (formerly known as an emergency 
license); a 3-year, short-term substitute license; or a 5-year 
long-term substitute license, as defined by the Wisconsin 
department of public instruction 

No additional training required 

5. a. Notwithstanding subd. 3. d., a person is not required to complete preservice training 
under Table 251.05A if the person was employed as the director of a center licensed to serve 
50 or fewer children prior to September 30, 2019, and met the preservice training requirement 
with a certificate from the Wisconsin Registry indicating the person was on Registry Level 12 
or above.  

b. Notwithstanding subd. 4. d., a person is not required to complete preservice training 
specified in Table 251.05B if the person was employed as the director of a center licensed to 
serve 51 or more children prior to September 30, 2019, and met the preservice training 
requirement with a certificate from the Wisconsin Registry indicating the person was on 
Registry Level 14 or above.  

(f) Child care teacher. 
1. A child care teacher shall plan, implement, and supervise the daily activities for a 

group of children. 
2. A person who is a child care teacher shall meet all of the following conditions:  
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a. Be at least 18 years of age. 
b. Have completed high school or its equivalent, as determined by the Wisconsin 

department of public instruction.  
c. Have at least 240 hours of experience as an assistant child care teacher in a group 

child care center, as a licensed family child care provider, or in another approved early 
childhood setting.  

3. Prior to assuming the position, a person hired to be a child care teacher shall 
complete or obtain one of the following:  

a. Four credits in early childhood education or its equivalent.  
b. Two non-credit department-approved courses in early childhood education.  
Note The non−credit courses approved by the department to meet the entry level training 

requirements for a child care teacher are Introduction to the Child Care Profession and Skills and 
Strategies for the Child Care Teacher or the assistant child care teacher or child care teacher training 
programs approved by the Wisconsin department of public instruction.  

bm. Two credits in early childhood education and one noncredit department-approved 
course in early childhood education.  

c. A certificate from the Wisconsin Registry indicating that the person is qualified as a 
child care teacher.  

d. The Registry Preschool Credential.  
e. The Registry Infant Toddler Credential.  
f. Forty-eight credits from an institution of higher education with at least 3 credits in 

early childhood education or its equivalent.  
g. A one-year child care diploma in child care or early childhood education from an 

institution of higher education. 
h. An associate degree in early childhood education or child care from an institution of 

higher education.  
i. A Child Development Associate credential issued by the Council for Professional 

Recognition.  
j. Certificate from American Montessori Society, Association Montessori International, or 

Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education.  
k. A license issued by the Wisconsin department of public instruction or the appropriate 

authority in another state to be a pre-kindergarten, kindergarten, or early childhood regular or 
special education teacher. The license may not be a one-year license with stipulations 
(formerly known as an emergency license); a 3-year, short-term substitute license; or a 5-year 
long-term substitute license, as defined by the Wisconsin department of public instruction.  

Note: Information on how to obtain or renew a Wisconsin department of public instruction 
teacher license is available on the DPI website, http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl.  

L. A certificate from the department of workforce development, bureau of apprenticeship 
standards, as a child development specialist.  

(g) Assistant child care teacher. 
1. An assistant child care teacher shall work under the supervision of a child care 

teacher with a group of children.  
2. Except as provided under subd. 3., a person hired to be assistant child care teacher 

shall be qualified in one of the following ways:  
a. Be at least 18 years old and have satisfactorily completed 2 credits in early childhood 

education or its equivalent within 6 months after assuming the position.  
b. Be at least 18 years old and have satisfactorily completed one, non-credit department-

approved course in early childhood education within 6 months after assuming the position. 
Note: Introduction to the Child Care Profession is the non−credit course that is approved by the 

department to meet the entry level training requirements for a child care assistant teacher. Information 
on agencies offering the department−approved course is available on the department’s website at 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

http://dpi.wi.gov/tepdl
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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c. Be at least 17 years of age and have satisfactorily completed an assistant child care 
teacher training program approved by the Wisconsin department of public instruction, 2 
credits in early childhood education or its equivalent, or a noncredit department-approved 
course in early childhood education .  

3. A parent serving as an assistant child care teacher in a center operated by a parent 
cooperative is exempt from the training requirements under subd. 2.  

(gm) Program aide. A program aide shall work under the direction and supervision of a 
child care teacher. 

2. A person who is a program aide shall be at least 16 years of age. 
3. A person hired as a program aide shall have satisfactorily completed at least one of the 

following no later than 6 months after assuming the position: 
a. An assistant child care teacher training program approved by the Wisconsin department 

of public instruction. 
b. A noncredit department-approved course in early childhood education. 
Note: Introduction to the Child Care Profession is the noncredit course approved by the department 

to meet the entry-level training requirements for a program aide. 
4. A program aide may not be counted in the required staff-to-child ratios under Table DCF 

251.055. 
(gr) Meal preparation personnel. Personnel who help prepare meals shall meet all the 

following conditions: 
1. Be at least 17 years of age. 
2. Participate in the orientation under sub. (4) (a). 
3. a. Except as provided in subd. 3. b., complete and document at least 4 hours of training 

in kitchen sanitation, food handling, and nutrition prior to beginning work, and one hour of 
training in kitchen sanitation, food handling, and nutrition annually thereafter. 

b. Staff in school-age program who help prepare meals shall complete one hour of annual 
training in kitchen sanitation, food handling, and nutrition.  

(h) Non-credit course criteria. Non-credit courses offered to meet the non-credit course 
requirements specified in this subsection shall contain the components prescribed by the 
department and shall be approved by the department before being offered. The department 
may at any time withdraw its approval of a non-credit course. Instructors of non-credit 
department-approved courses shall be approved by the department prior to teaching a course.  

Note: Information on the process for obtaining department approval for noncredit courses may 
be obtained from the Wisconsin Registry at http://www.wiregistry.org or 608-222-1123. A list of 
agencies approved to offer noncredit department-approved courses is available on the department’s 
website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov.  

(i) Substitutes.  
1. When a regular required staff member is absent from a center, there shall be a 

substitute who is at least 18 years of age.  
2. A substitute who is employed by the same licensee for more than 240 hours shall 

complete at least 2 credits or one noncredit, department-approved course in early childhood 
education before completing 240 cumulative hours of work as a substitute.  

Note: The course for credit called Health, Safety and Nutrition offered by a Wisconsin technical 
college or the department-approved, non-credit course called Introduction to the Child Care Profession 
may be used to meet this requirement and if taken after July 1, 2005 also contains the department-
approved training on preventing abusive head trauma. Information on agencies offering the department-
approved course is available on the department’s website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov. 

3. The center director or designee shall maintain a record of the days and hours worked 
by each substitute.  

(j) Volunteers and student teachers.  
1. Volunteers and student teachers shall participate in the orientation required under 

sub. (4) (a).  
  

http://www.wiregistry.org/
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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2. A volunteer who is used to meet a center’s required staff-to-child ratios under s. DCF 
251.055 shall complete at least 2 credits or one noncredit, department-approved course in 
early childhood education before completing 240 cumulative hours of work as a volunteer.  

Note: The 3-credit course called Health, Safety and Nutrition offered by a Wisconsin technical 
college or the department-approved, noncredit course called Introduction to the Child Care Profession 
may be used to meet this requirement and if taken after 7/1/05 also contain the department-approved 
training in shaken baby syndrome prevention. Information on agencies offering the department-
approved course is available on the department’s website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov.  

3. A volunteer who is not included in determining the center’s required staff-to-child 
ratios under s. DCF 251.055 shall have training in child care programming and procedures 
before working with children in care. The training shall include the responsibilities of the 
volunteer, general child supervision techniques, a review of the daily schedule and general 
health and safety practices including meal or snack preparation, dishwashing, toileting, 
personal hygiene and emergency evacuation procedures. This includes volunteers working 
in a center operated by a parent cooperative.  

4. The center director or designee shall coordinate the volunteer program and keep on file 
documentation of the hours worked by volunteers who are used to meet staff-to-child ratios.  

5. A volunteer used to meet the required staff-to-child ratios under s. DCF 251.055 shall 
be at least 18 years of age.  

(k) Provider health.  
1. No licensee, employee, volunteer, visitor, or other person with symptoms of serious 

illness that presents a safety or health risk to children or a communicable disease that is 
reportable under ch. DHS 145 and transmitted through normal contact may be in contact 
with children in care.  

2. No licensee, employee, volunteer, visitor, or other person whose behavior gives 
reasonable concern for the safety of children may be in contact with the children in care. 

3. The department may require a licensee, employee, or other person in contact with the 
children whose behavior gives reasonable concern for the safety of children to submit to an 
examination by a licensed mental health professional as a condition of licensure or employment.  

Note: See also s. DCF 251.11 (1) (f), which requires a written statement from a physician or 
licensed mental health professional when there is reason to believe that the physical or mental health 
of a person may endanger children in care.  

4. No person with a health history of typhoid, paratyphoid, dysentery, or other diarrheal 
disease may work in a center until it is determined by appropriate tests that the person is 
not a carrier of the disease. 

(4) STAFF DEVELOPMENT.  
(a) Orientation. Except as provided under subd. 14., each center shall develop and 

implement a written orientation program that all new employees, substitutes, and regular 
volunteers shall complete and document within their first week at the center. The orientation 
program shall cover all of the following:  

Note: See DCF 251.08 (4) (b) for orientation requirements for persons transporting children.  
1. A review of this chapter.  
2. A review of center policies and procedures required under s. DCF 251.04 (2) (h).  
3. A review of the center emergency plans required under s. DCF 251.04 (2) (h) 9., 

including fire and tornado evacuation plans and the operation of fire extinguishers.  
4. Prevention and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions.  
5. First aid procedure. 
6. Administration of medications.  
7. Job responsibilities in relation to the job description.  

  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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8. Training in the recognition of childhood illnesses and infectious disease control, including 
handwashing procedures, universal precautions for handling bodily fluids, and immunizations.  

Note: Information on universal precautions may be obtained from the Child Care Information 
Center website, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic, or by calling 800−362−7353.  

9. A schedule of activities of the center. 
11. The procedure for ensuring that all child care workers know the children assigned to 

their care and their whereabouts at all times, including during center-provided transportation.  
12. Child management techniques.  
13. The procedure for sharing information related to a child’s special health care needs 

including any physical, emotional, social, or cognitive disabilities with any child care worker 
who may be assigned to care for that child throughout the day.  

14. If the center is licensed to care for children under one year of age, a review of 
procedures to reduce the risk of sudden infant death syndrome prior to an employee’s or 
volunteer’s first day of work.  

15. The procedure to contact a parent if a child is absent from the center without prior 
notification from the parent.  

16. Information on any special needs that a child enrolled in the center may have and the 
plan for how those needs will be met.  

17. Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from 
hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic. 

18. The handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of 
biocontaminants. In this subdivision, “biocontaminants” includes blood, body fluids, or 
excretions that may spread infectious disease.  

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Staff Orientation Checklist - Group Child Care 
Centers, for documenting staff orientation. The form is available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

(b) Staff meetings. To ensure that staff have the opportunity to receive pertinent 
information and clarification of problems and issues, each center shall conduct in-person 
staff meetings at least 9 times in a calendar year or one time for each month of center 
operation and shall document that staff meetings have been held. 

(c) Continuing education. 
1. Each administrator, center director, child care worker, school-age administrator, and 

school-age director shall participate in at least 15 hours of continuing education annually.  
2m. Each administrator, center director, child care worker, school-age administrator, or 

school-age director who works fewer than 8 months per year shall participate in the 
equivalent of at least 2 hours of continuing education per month of employment as an 
administrator, center director, child care worker, school-age administrator, or school-age 
director. 

3. Any continuing education hours completed that exceed the annual requirement for the 
year may be used to meet the annual requirement in the 2 years following completion.  

4. Continuing education courses completed for credit that exceed the annual 
requirement for the year may be used to meet the annual requirement in the 2 years 
following completion.  

5. Assistant child care teachers who are currently enrolled in their first entry level course 
are not required to earn continuing education for that year.  

6. The types of training acceptable to meet continuing education requirements shall be 
limited to any of the following:  

a. Formal courses resulting in credits or continuing education units. 
b. Workshops, conferences, seminars, lectures, correspondence courses, and home 

study courses. 
c. Training offered by the child care center through the use of guest or staff trainers. 
d. Documented observation time in other early childhood programs. 

  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/ccic
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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e. Web-based training. 
f. Independent reading. 
g. Viewing educational materials, including videos, lesson plans, and websites.  
h. For participants in the YoungStar program, technical assistance under s. 48.659, 

Stats. 
7. Continuing education may be in any of the following topics: 
a. Prevention and control of infectious diseases. 
b. Medication administration. 
c. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions. 
d. Identification of and protection from hazards. 
e. Building and physical premises safety. 
f. Emergency preparedness and response planning. 
g. Handling and storage of hazardous materials. 
h. Handling and disposal of biocontaminants. 
i. Child growth and development. 
j. Caring for children with disabilities. 
k. Guiding children’s behavior. 
L. Nutrition. 
m. Physical activity. 
n. Transportation safety. 
o. Identification and reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect. 
p. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 
q. First aid. 
r. Business operations.  
s. Any other topic that promotes child development or protects children’s health or safety.  
9. Each administrator, center director, and child care worker shall have documentation of 

the 12-month period included in his or her training year for meeting continuing education 
requirements and begin a new training year in the same month each year.  

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, Staff Continuing Education Record - 
Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form to document the completion of continuing education. 
Forms are available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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(1) SUPERVISION. 
(a) Each child shall be supervised by a child care worker who is within the sight and 

sound of the children to guide the children’s behavior and activities, prevent harm, and 
ensure safety.  

(b) At least one child care teacher shall supervise each group of children, except as 
provided in par. (c).  

(c) Assistant child care teachers who are at least 18 years of age and have completed 
the training required for the position may provide sole supervision to a group of children in 
full-day centers for opening and closing hours, not to exceed the first 2 hours and the last 2 
hours of center operation, and during the center’s designated naptime, not to exceed 2 
hours.  

(d) A child care worker may not provide care for children at the center for more than 12 
hours in any 24-hour period. 

(e) A child may not be in care for more than 14 hours in any 24-hour period.  
(f) The center shall implement and adhere to a procedure to ensure that the number, 

names, and whereabouts of children in care are known to assigned child care workers at all 
times.  

(g) A child may not be released to any person who has not been previously authorized by 
the parent.  

(h) The center shall implement a procedure to contact a parent if a child is absent from 
the center without prior notification from the parent.  

(i) No person under 18 years of age shall be left in sole charge of a child.  
(j) No licensee, employee, volunteer, or other individual in contact with children may 

consume alcoholic beverages or any non-prescribed controlled substance specified in ch. 
961, Stats., on the premises of the center or be under the influence of any alcohol or non-
prescribed controlled substance, during the hours of the center’s operation. 

(2) GROUPING OF CHILDREN.  
(a) The maximum number of children in a group may not exceed the number specified in 

Table 251.055.  
(b) The ratio of child care workers to children may not be less than the minimum number 

of child care workers to children specified in Table 251.055. 
 

TABLE DCF 251.055 
Maximum Group Size and Minimum Number of Child Care Workers 

in Group Child Care Centers 
Age of Children  Minimum Number of Child 

Care Workers to Children  
Maximum Number of 
Children in a Group  

Birth to 2 Years  1:4  8  
2 years to 2½ Years  1:6  12  
2½ Years to 3 Years  1:8  16  
3 Years to 4 Years  1:10  20  
4 Years to 5 Years  1:13  26  
5 Years and Over  1:18  36 

 
(c) When there is a mixed-age group, the required staff-to-child ratios in Table 251.055 

shall be adjusted on a pro rata basis in accordance with the ages of the children in the 
group.  

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Child Care Staff-To-Child Ratio Worksheet - 
Group Child Care Centers, to adjust the staff-to-child ratio. Forms are available on the department’s 
website at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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(d) When infants and toddlers are part of a mixed-age group, the size of the group may 
not exceed 8.  

(e) When the group of children is a mixed age group of children 2 years and older, the 
group size shall be determined by the number of children that can be cared for by 2 child 
care workers with the required staff-to-child ratios in Table 251.055 adjusted on a pro rata 
basis in accordance with the ages of the children in the group. 

(f) Maximum group size does not apply to field trips, outdoor play areas, and areas of 
the center reserved exclusively for eating. Staff-to-child ratios shall be maintained in those 
settings.  

(g) During naptime, an adjustment in group size and staff-to-child ratios in Table 251.055 
may be made as follows:  

1. One child care worker shall be within sight or sound of each group of sleeping 
children, except as provided in s. DCF 251.09 (1) (m).  

2. Staff-to-child ratios shall be maintained in the center during naptime.  
3. Maximum group size requirements do not apply to napping groups.  
4. As children wake, sight and sound supervision and staff-to-child ratios in Table 

251.055 shall be maintained for awake children.  
(h) When 8 or fewer children are present in a center, there shall be a second adult 

available to come to the center within 5 minutes for emergencies. The center shall maintain 
a signed and dated statement from that person, including an address and telephone 
number, certifying that the person is available and agrees to serve if needed. 

(i) In a center with 9 or more children present, there shall be at least 2 adults available in 
the center at all times. At least one of the adults shall be a child care worker directly 
involved in the supervision and care of the children.  

(j) When 9 or more children are on a field trip there shall be at least 2 child care workers 
accompanying the children and the staff-to-child ratios in Table DCF 251.055 shall be 
maintained. At least one of the child care workers shall be a child care teacher.  

(k) Support staff, such as clerical, housekeeping, and food service staff, may only be 
considered in determining whether the required staff-to-child ratios are met at any of the 
following times:  

1. During those hours when they give full attention to the care and supervision of 
children if they meet the qualifications of a child care worker.  

2. During naptime when children are sleeping.  
(L) Child care workers shall be free of non-classroom duties when they are counted in 

meeting the staff-to-child ratios.  
(m) Children of staff who attend the center and who are on the premises for supervision 

and care shall be included in determining group size and staff-to-child ratios. 
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(1) BUILDING.  
(a) The building in which a center is located shall comply with applicable state and local 

building codes. The licensee shall maintain a building inspection report that specifies that 
the building meets the applicable Wisconsin commercial building codes for use as a group 
child care center.  

Note: Inspections can be obtained from a commercial building inspector certified by the 
Department of Safety and Professional Services in accordance with ch. SPS 305, “Licenses, 
Certifications, and Registration,” or a Wisconsin architect registered in accordance with chapter A-E 3, 
Architect Registration, or a Wisconsin engineer registered in accordance with chapter A-E 4, 
Professional Engineer Registration. 

Note: Local authorities should be consulted to obtain any required zoning clearances or building 
permits. 

(c) Space designated for use by children may only be used by children and staff and may 
not be used for other purposes while the center is open.  

(d) The inside temperature may not be less than 67°F.  
(e) If the inside temperature exceeds 80°F., the licensee shall provide for air circulation 

with fans, with air conditioning, or by other means. 

(2) PROTECTIVE MEASURES.  
(a) The indoor and outdoor premises shall be free of hazards including any recalled 

products.  
Note: Lists of recalled products are available on the Department of Agriculture, Trade and 

Consumer Protection website at 
https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/ChildProductRecallsAdvice.aspx or by contacting 
the United States Consumer Products Safety Commission (US CPSC) at 1-800-638-2772. 

(b) Steam radiators, fireplaces, wood burning stoves, electric fans, electric outlets, 
electrical heating units and hot surfaces, such as pipes, shall be protected by screens or 
guards so that children cannot touch them.  

(c) Firearms, ammunition and other potentially dangerous items may not be kept on the 
premises.  

(d) Materials harmful to children, including power tools, flammable or combustible 
materials, insecticides, matches, drugs, cleaning supplies, bleaches, and other hazardous, 
toxic, or poisonous articles shall be appropriately labeled and stored in areas inaccessible to 
children.  

 (e) A motor vehicle shall be immediately available at the center at all times in case of an 
emergency if a public or private rescue or emergency vehicle cannot arrive at the center 
within 10 minutes of a phone call.  

(f) The center shall have a working telephone or access to a working telephone on the 
premises during hours of operation, with a list of emergency telephone numbers, including 
telephone numbers for the local fire department, police department or other law 
enforcement agency, poison control center and emergency medical service in a location 
known to all providers. In this paragraph, “telephone” does not include a pay telephone 
requiring payment to reach the operator or a telephone in a locked room.  

(g) Stairs, walks, ramps and porches shall be maintained in a safe condition and free 
from the accumulation of water, ice or snow. 

(gm) The premises shall be well drained, free from litter, clean, and in good repair. The 
premises shall be maintained to prevent the entrance or harborage of vermin. 

 (h) Smoking is prohibited on the premises of the center or in a vehicle used to transport 
children when the children are in care.  

Note: See s. DCF 251.03 (25) for the definition of premises. 
(i) There shall be no flaking or deteriorating paint on exterior or interior surfaces in areas 

accessible to children. 
  

https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Programs_Services/ChildProductRecallsAdvice.aspx
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(im) No lead-based paint or other toxic finishing material may be used on indoor or 
outdoor furnishings and equipment. 

(j) Children may not be allowed in an area where power tools are in use.  
(k) A hot tub located in a room or area accessible to children shall have a visible, locked, 

rigid cover or be enclosed by a locked fence at least 4 feet tall. The lock shall be installed so 
that the lock is inaccessible to children.  

(L) If a hot tub is located in a room or area not intended for use by children, access to the 
room or area shall be controlled through the use of a visibly locked door. The lock shall be 
installed so that the lock is inaccessible to children. 

(m) Cleaning aids such as mops and brooms shall be clean. Buckets used with mops 
shall be emptied and stored in areas inaccessible to children.  

(n) Garbage containers in the building shall be rigid, covered, watertight, and emptied 
daily or more often as needed. Compactors need not be emptied daily. Garbage and refuse 
stored out of doors shall be kept in leak-proof containers equipped with tight-fitting covers 
and shall be disposed of as necessary to prevent decomposition or overflow.  

(o) Windows and doors that are used for ventilation shall be screened. 
(p) 1. a. Each licensee shall test or have a test conducted for radon gas levels in the 

lowest level of the center that is used by children in care for at least 7 hours per week. The 
test shall be conducted for a minimum of 48 hours with the center’s windows closed.  

b. In a center licensed prior to the effective date of this subd. 1. [March 1, 2023], the test 
for radon gas levels shall be conducted no later than 6 months after the effective date of 
this subd. 1. [March 1, 2023]. 

c. In a center licensed on or after the effective date of this subd. 1. [March 1, 2023], the 
test for radon gas levels shall be conducted within 6 months prior to providing care for 
children. 

2. The licensee shall submit a copy of the radon test results under subds. 1. and 5. To 
the department within 5 days after receipt. 

3. The lowest level of a center that is used by children in care for at least 7 hours per 
week may not have radon gas levels that exceed 4 picocuries per liter of air, excelt as 
provided in subd. 4. b. 

4. If the levels of radon gases exceed 4 picocuries per liter of air in the lowest level of the 
center, the licensee shall do all of the following: 

a. Notify the parents of children in care. 
b. Have a radon mitigation system installed, test for radon gas levels following the 

procedures specified in subd. 1. a., and submit radon test results that meet the standards in 
subd. 3. to the department within 12 months after the date of the test under subd. 1. 

5. a. In this subdivision, “commercial building” means a building that is not a residential 
building and that meets the definition of a “place of employment” or a “public building” in s. 
101.01 (11) or (12), Stats. 

b. In this subdivision, “residential building” means a building that meets the definition of 
a “dwelling” in s. 101.61 (1), Stats. 

c. The licensee of a center in a commercial building shall test for radon gas levels every 
5 years after the test under subd. 1. or, if a radon mitigation system was installed, every 5 
years after the test under subd. 4. b. The test shall be conducted following the procedures 
specified in subd. 1. a. 

d. The licensee of a center in a residential building shall test for radon gas levels every 2 
years after the test under subd. 1. or, if a radon mitigation system was installed, every 2 
years after the test under subd. 4. b. The test shall be conducted following the procedures 
specified in subd. 1. a. 

Note: For more information, contact the state radon office or local radon information center at 
HTTPS://WWW.DHS.WISCONSIN.GOV/RADON/INFOCENTERS.HTM. 

  

https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/radon/infocenters.htm
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(3) EMERGENCY PLANS AND DRILLS. 
(a) Each center shall have a written plan for taking appropriate action in the event of an 

emergency, including fire, tornado, or flood; extreme heat or cold; loss of building services, 
including heat, water, electricity, or telephone; human- caused events, such as threats to the 
building or its occupants; allergic reactions; lost or missing children; vehicle accidents; or 
other circumstances requiring immediate attention. The plan shall include procedures for all 
of the following:  

1. Evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place, and lock-down.  
2. Ensuring the needs of children under 2 years of age and children with disabilities are met.  
3. Communication with parents.  
4. Connecting children with their parents if the center is required to evacuate the building.  
(b) Each center shall do all of the following:  
1. Post the fire evacuation route and tornado shelter areas.  
2. Practice the fire evacuation plan monthly, and tornado drills monthly from April 

through October.  
3. Ensure that all staff members know what their duties are if there is an emergency.  
4. Keep a written record of dates and times all fire and tornado drills practiced.  
Note: The licensee may use the department’s form Safety and Emergency Response 

Documentation - Group Child Care Centers, to document the results of the monthly testing of fire 
alarms and smoke detectors. Forms are available on the department’s website, 
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

(4) FIRE PROTECTION.  
(a) Each fire extinguisher on the premises of a center shall be operable at all times, 

inspected once a year by a qualified person and bear a label indicating its present condition 
and date of the last inspection.  

(b) All staff members shall be instructed in and knowledgeable about the use of the fire 
extinguishers. 

(c) Each floor used by children shall have at least 2 exits. 
(d) Exits and exit passageways shall have a minimum clear width of 3 feet and be 

unobstructed by furniture or other objects. 
(e) An extension cord may not be used permanently with an appliance. 
(f) No more than 2 electrical appliances may be plugged into any one wall outlet. 
(g) The door to the basement and furnace room shall be closed.  
(h) Areas under stairs may not be used for storage.  
(i) All exit lights shall be lit at all times. 
(j) 1. Fire detection and prevention systems, including smoke detectors, heat or flame 

detectors, pull stations, and sprinkler systems shall be installed and operated in accordance 
with ch. SPS 316 and chs. SPS 361 to 366, the Wisconsin Commercial Building Code; 
applicable local ordinances; and the manufacturer’s instructions. 

2. All fire detection and prevention systems, including smoke detectors, heat or flame 
detectors, pull stations, and sprinkler systems shall be maintained in operating condition 
and shall be immediately repaired or replaced if any unit or part of a unit is found to be 
inoperative. 

(jm) 1. A signaling device, such as a smoke, heat, or flame detector, shall be used to 
conduct monthly fire evacuation drills. 

2. The licensee shall document that the fire detection and prevention systems are 
monitored by a fire prevention agency or that the detectors and alarms have been tested 
monthly. 

Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS0543, Safety and Emergency 
Response Documentation – Group Child Care Centers, to document the results of the monthly testing 
of fire alarms and smoke detectors. The form is available at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 
  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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(k) Unvented gas, oil or kerosene space heaters are prohibited. 

(6) WATER.  
(a) A safe supply of drinking water shall be available to children and staff at all times 

from a drinking fountain of the angle jet type or by use of a disposable or reusable cup or 
water bottle. Common use of drinkware is prohibited. 

(b) If a center gets its water from a private well, the center shall comply with all of the 
following: 

1. a. The center shall have water samples from the well tested for total coliform and 
Escherichia coli (E. coli) bacteria annually using a laboratory certified by the department of 
agriculture, trade and consumer protection as specified in ch. ATCP 77. The laboratory 
report shall be available to the department upon request. 

b. If the water test results indicate the presence of total coliform or E. coli bacteria, the 
water system shall be appropriately disinfected or treated and retested until it is determined 
to be free of bacteria. An alternative source of water shall be used for drinking and preparing 
food or infant formula until the well is free from bacteria. 

Note 1: A list of laboratories certified to test for bacteria can be found on the Department of 
Natural Resources website: www.dnr.wi.gov. 

Note 2: Alternative sources of drinking water can include bottled water and water from a public 
water system that meets drinking water standards. 

2. a. The center shall have water samples from the well tested for nitrate annually using 
a laboratory certified under ch. NR 149. The laboratory report shall be available to the 
department upon request. 

b. If water test results indicate nitrate levels are above 10 mg/L, an alternative source of 
water shall be used for drinking and preparing food or infant formula until nitrate levels are 
below 10 mg/L. 

Note 1: A list of laboratories certified to test for nitrate can be found on DNR’s website: 
www.dnr.wi.gov. 

Note 2: Alternative sources of drinking water include bottled water, water that has been treated 
with a device certified by the department of safety and professional services to remove nitrate, and 
water from a public water system that meets drinking water standards. 

3. a. The center shall have the well tested for lead every 5 years using a laboratory 
certified by the department of natural resources under ch. NR 149. The laboratory report 
shall be available to the department upon request. 

b. If water test results indicate lead levels are above 15 micrograms per liter (μg/L), an 
alternative source of water shall be used for drinking and preparing food or infant formula 
until action is taken to reduce lead levels below 15 μg/L as confirmed by an additional water 
test. 

Note 1: A list of laboratories certified to test for lead can be found on DNR’s website: 
www.dnr.wi.gov. 

Note 2: Alternative sources of drinking water include, but are not limited to, bottled water and 
water from a source known to be low in lead, such as a public water system that meets drinking water 
standards. 

(7) INDOOR SPACE.  
(a) The space used by children shall be no less than 35 square feet of usable floor space 

for each child, exclusive of passageways, kitchens, bathrooms, coat storage areas, offices, 
storage areas, isolation quarters, staff room, furnace room, parts of rooms occupied by 
stationary equipment, and areas not at all times available to children, including areas used 
exclusively for large muscle activity, napping or eating.   

(b) There shall be additional storage space for cots, bedding, supplies and equipment 
not in use.  
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(9) KITCHENS.  
(a) Equipment and utensils. 
1. When meals are prepared or heated on the premises, the kitchen shall be equipped with a 

microwave or stove with an oven, a refrigerator, a sink and utensils that are necessary to prepare 
and serve meals. The sink shall be used exclusively for food preparation and dishwashing.  

1m. Centers preparing or serving only snacks are not required to have a sink unless 
dishes or utensils requiring dishwashing are used. Centers preparing or serving only snacks 
are not required to have a microwave or stove unless the snacks served require heating. 
Refrigerators are required if the center serves milk or other perishable snacks.  

2. All equipment and utensils shall have smooth, hard surfaces, be easily cleanable, in 
good repair, durable, non-toxic and free of cracks, seams, chips and roughened areas, and 
shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition.  

3. Food preparation tables shall be durable, and surfaces shall be smooth, non-
absorbent and easily cleanable. 

4. After cleaning, utensils shall be stored in a clean, dry place and protected from 
contamination. 

5. Single-service utensils shall be non-toxic, stored in a clean, dry place, kept covered, 
and may not be reused.   

(b) Dishwashing procedures.  
1. All kitchen utensils and food contact surfaces used for preparation, storage or serving 

of food shall be thoroughly cleaned and sanitized after each use.  
2. All utensils and dishes shall be scraped, sorted and prewashed under running water. 
3. For manual washing of dishes and utensils, a 3-step procedure shall be used: 
a. Wash in water between 110° and 125°F., using an effective soap or detergent.  
b. Rinse by immersing dishes and utensils in clean, hot water to remove soap or detergent. 
c. Sanitize by using a product that is registered with the U.S. environmental protection 

agency as a sanitizer and has instructions for use as a sanitizer on the label. The sanitizer 
shall be used in a manner consistent with the label instructions. 

4. a. If a center uses a commercial dishwasher to clean dishes and utensils, the 
dishwasher shall have a readily visible temperature gauge located in the wash 
compartment. If the dishwasher is a spray type or immersion type dishwasher, a 
temperature gauge shall also be located in the rinse water line.  

b. Wash at 130 degrees Fahrenheit to 150 degrees Fahrenheit for at least 20 seconds, 
using an effective cleaning agent, and rinse and sanitize at 180 degrees Fahrenheit for 10 
seconds or more, using an automatic rinse injector. 

c. When using a spray-type dishwashing machine, the dishes and utensils shall be 
washed, rinsed and sanitized in the dishwasher according to the manufacturer’s operating 
instructions. A chemical sanitizer shall be used in the final rinse. 

5. If the center uses a home-type dishwasher to clean dishes and utensils, the dishes 
and utensils shall be washed and rinsed in the dishwasher and by using a product that is 
registered with the U.S. environmental protection agency as a sanitizer and has instructions 
for use as a sanitizer on the label. The sanitizer shall be used in a manner consistent with 
the label instructions. 

6. All dishes and utensils shall be air-dried in racks or baskets or on drain boards. 
(c) Food sources.  
1. Food shall be clean, wholesome, free from spoilage, free from adulteration or 

misbranding and safe for human consumption. Meat, poultry, fish, molluscan shellfish, eggs 
and dairy products shall be from an inspected source. 

2. Only milk and milk products which are pasteurized and meet the Grade A milk 
standards of the Wisconsin department of agriculture, trade, and consumer protection may 
be served or used.  
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3m. Meals shall be prepared on the premises, in a central kitchen operated by the child care 
center or in another location that has been inspected by a representative of a state agency. 

Note: Chapter ATCP 75, subch. III addresses restaurants and other public eating establishments. 
Chapter ATCP 75, subch. II, addresses retail food establishments. 

4. Food in dented, bulging or leaking cans, or cans without labels, may not be used. 
5. Hermetically sealed, non-acid or low-acid food which has been processed in a place 

other than a commercial food processing establishment may not be used. 
(d) Food storage.  
1. Foods shall be stored at temperatures which protect against spoilage. The following 

measures shall be taken to prevent spoilage:  
a. Perishable and potentially hazardous food which includes all custard-filled and cream-

filled pastries, milk and milk products, meat, fish, shellfish, gravy, poultry stuffing and 
sauces, dressings, salads containing meat, fish, eggs, milk or milk products, and any other 
food or food product likely to spoil quickly if not kept at the proper temperature shall be 
continuously maintained at 40°F. or below or 140°F. or above, as appropriate, except during 
necessary periods of preparation and service.  

b. Each refrigeration unit shall be maintained at 40°F. or lower and each freezing unit 
shall be maintained at 0°F. or lower.  

c. Each cold storage facility shall be equipped with a clearly visible accurate thermometer.  
d. Food shall be covered while refrigerated, except when being cooled. 
2. Foods not requiring refrigeration shall be stored in clean, dry, ventilated and lighted 

storerooms or areas which shall be protected from contamination by sewage, wastewater 
backflow, condensation, leakage or vermin. In addition: 

a. Dry foods, such as flour, sugar, cereals and beans shall be stored in bags with zip-type 
closures or metal, glass or food-grade plastic containers with tight-fitting covers and shall 
be labeled. In this paragraph, “food grade plastic” means any plastic material used in the 
manufacture of dishes or utensils which has been found not harmful to human health by the 
national sanitation foundation. 

b. Foods stored in the basement shall be stored at least 8 inches above the floor, and 
food stored in other areas shall be stored high enough above the floor to provide for air 
circulation and to facilitate cleaning.  

(f) Food handling.  
1. Raw fruits and vegetables shall be washed before being served or cooked.  
2. Food returned from individual plates or from dining tables shall be discarded. 
3. Food that was prepared but not served shall be dated, refrigerated promptly, and used 

within 36 hours, or frozen immediately for use within 6 months.  
4. Food delivery vehicles shall be equipped with clean containers or cabinets to store 

food while in transit. Containers for cold food shall be capable of maintaining the 
temperature at or below 40°F. and containers for hot food shall be capable of maintaining 
the temperature at or above 140°F.  

5. Potentially hazardous frozen foods shall be thawed in the refrigerator, under cold 
running water or on the defrost setting in a microwave oven. No potentially hazardous 
frozen food may be thawed by leaving it at room temperature. 

(g) Meal preparation personnel.  
1. Personnel who help prepare meals shall:  
b. Wear clean clothing and effective hair restraints such as hair nets or caps. 
c. Wash their hands with soap and warm running water before starting work, before and 

after handling food, and after using the toilet. Hands shall be dried with single use towels.  
2. No one with an open or infected wound or sore may work in the food preparation area 

unless the wound or sore is covered and, if it is on a hand, a nonporous glove is worn on that 
hand. 
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(10) WASHROOM AND TOILET FACILITIES.  
(a) A group child care center shall provide at least the number of washbasins and toilets 

with plumbing indicated in Table 251.06. Urinals may be substituted for up to 1/3 of the total 
required toilets.  

TABLE 251.06 
Minimum Number of Washbasins and Toilets  

Required in Group Child Care Centers 
Maximum Number of Children for 

Which the Center is Licensed 
Number of Toilets Number of Washbasins  

9 or 10 1 1 
11 to 25 2 1 
26 to 40 3 2 
41 to 55 4 2 
56 to 70 5 3 

 
(b) When a center is licensed for more than 70 children, one additional toilet shall be 

provided for each additional 15 children or fraction thereof and washbasins shall be 
provided in the ratio of one for every 2 additional toilets and urinals or fraction thereof. 

(c) Children under the age of 30 months need not be included when determining the 
required fixtures under par. (a). However, in all cases, at least one toilet and one washbasin 
shall be provided. 

(d) If potty chairs are used for children under 30 months of age, the potty chairs shall be 
provided in a ratio of one for every 4 children or fraction thereof.  

(dm) 1. Toilet rooms and fixtures shall be in a sanitary condition at all times.  
2. Potty chair receptacles shall be emptied and rinsed after use and the potty chair and 

receptacle shall be disinfected immediately using a product registered with the U.S. 
environmental protection agency as a disinfectant that has instructions for use as a 
disinfectant on the label. The disinfectant shall be used according to label instructions. 

(e) Steps or blocks shall be provided if washbasins and toilets are not proportioned to 
the size of the children. 

(f) Soap, toilet paper, disposable paper towels or blower-type air dryers and a 
wastepaper container shall be provided and accessible to children using the facilities.  

(g) Toilet room door locks shall be openable from the outside and the opening device 
shall be readily accessible to the staff. 

(h) The hot water temperature may not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit for sinks, 
showers, or bathtubs used by or accessible to children in care. 

(11) OUTDOOR PLAY SPACE.  
(a) Requirement for outdoor play space. A center shall have outdoor play space if children 

are present for more than 3 hours per day or if outdoor play is included in the center program.  
(b) Required features of outdoor play space. Except when an exemption is requested and 

is approved by the department under par. (c), a center shall comply with all of the following 
requirements for outdoor play space:  

1. The outdoor play space shall be on the premises of the center. 
2. There shall be at least 75 square feet of outdoor play space for each child 2 years of 

age or older using the space at a given time. 
3. There shall be at least 35 square feet of outdoor play space for each child under 2 

years of age using the space at a given time except as provided in subd. 4. 
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4. The total outdoor play space of a center shall accommodate not less than 1/3 of the 
number of children for which the center is licensed or shall be a minimum of 750 square 
feet, whichever is greater. The number of children under one year of age need not be 
included for purposes of computing the minimum required outdoor play space if the center 
provides spaces in wheeled vehicles such as strollers and wagons equal to the number of 
children under one year of age. 

5. An energy-absorbing surface, such as loose sand, pea gravel, or pine or bark mulch, in 
a depth of at least 9 inches is required under climbing equipment, swings, and slides 
whenever the play equipment is 4 feet or more in height and in a fall zone of 4 feet beyond 
the equipment. Shredded rubber and poured surfacing shall be installed to the 
manufacturer’s specifications based on the height of the equipment.  

6. Structures such as playground equipment, railings, decks, and porches accessible to 
children that have been constructed with CCA treated lumber shall be sealed with an exterior 
oil based sealant or stain at least every 2 years.  

6m. Wood containing creosote or pentachlorophenol (PCP), including railroad ties, may 
not be accessible to children. 

7. The boundaries of the outdoor play space shall be defined by a permanent enclosure 
not less than 4 feet high to protect the children. Fencing, plants, or landscaping may be used 
to create a permanent enclosure. The permanent enclosure may not have any open areas 
that are greater than 4 inches. 

8. Concrete and asphalt are prohibited under climbing equipment, swings and slides. 
Note: The Consumer Products Safety Commission has a publication entitled Handbook for Public 

Playground Safety, Pub. No. 325 which provides information on playground safety guidelines 
designed to help child care centers build safe playgrounds. To obtain copies of this publication and a 
related public playground safety checklist, contact the Consumer Products Safety Commission at 
www.cpsc.gov or 1-800-638-2772. 

(bm) Equipment. Outdoor equipment shall be safe and durable. The outdoor equipment 
shall be all of the following:  

1. Used in accordance with all manufacturer’s instructions and any manufacturer’s 
recommendations that may affect the safety of children in care.  

2. Scaled to the developmental level, size, and ability of the children.  
3. Of sturdy construction with no sharp, rough, loose, protruding, pinching, or pointed 

edges, or areas of entrapment, in good operating condition, and anchored when necessary.  
4. Placed to avoid danger of injury or collision and to permit freedom of action. 
(c) Exemption for off-premises play space. 
1. In this paragraph, “main thoroughfare” means a heavily traveled street or road used by 

vehicles as a principal route of travel. 
1m. If a center has no outdoor play space available on the premises of the center, the 

licensee may request an exemption from the requirements under par. (b) for a center’s 
outdoor play space. 

2. A request for an exemption under subd. 1m. shall be in writing and shall be 
accompanied by a plan for outdoor play space which does all the following: 

a. Identifies and describes the location to be used, the travel distance from the center to 
that location and the means of transporting the children to that location. 

b. Provides for adequate supervision of the children as specified in Table 251.055. 
c. Provides for daily vigorous exercise in the out-of-doors for the children. 
d. Describes the arrangements to meet the toileting and diapering needs of the children. 
e. Affirms the center’s compliance with the requirements included in subds. 3. to 6. 
Note: Send the request for an exemption and the off-premises outdoor play space plan to the 

appropriate regional office in Appendix A. 
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3. The off-premises outdoor play space shall be free of hazards such as bodies of water, 
railroad tracks, unfenced in-ground swimming pools, heavily wooded areas and nearby 
highways and main thoroughfares.  

4. There shall be at least 75 square feet of outdoor play space for each child 2 years of 
age or older using the space at a given time, and at least 35 square feet of outdoor play 
space for each child under 2 years of age using the space at a given time. 

5. No climbing equipment, swing or slide in the play space may have concrete or asphalt 
under it. 

6. When the off-premises outdoor play space is reached by walking, the center shall 
transport children under 3 years of age in wheeled vehicles, such as strollers or wagons, 
with a seating capacity equal to the number of children under 3 years of age to be 
transported. 

7. A center’s plan for use of an off-premises outdoor play space is subject to approval by 
the department. Within 30 days after receipt of a plan and request for an exemption from the 
requirements of par. (b), the department shall either approve the plan and grant the 
exemption or not approve the plan and therefore deny the request for exemption. The 
department shall notify the center in writing of its decision and, if it does not grant an 
exemption, shall state its reasons for not granting the exemption. 

8. If any circumstance described in an approved plan for use of off-premises outdoor 
play space changes or if any condition for plan approval is not met or is no longer met, the 
department may withdraw its approval of the plan and cancel the exemption. A center with 
an approved plan shall immediately report to the department’s licensing representative any 
significant change in any circumstance described in the plan.  

(12) SWIMMING AREAS.  
(a) 1. Aboveground and in-ground swimming pools on the premises may not be used by 

children in care. 
2. Swimming pools shall be enclosed by a 4-foot fence with a self-closing, self-latching 

door. Spaces between the vertical posts of the fence shall be 4 inches or less. 
3. If access to the pool is through a gate, the gate shall be closed and visibly locked 

during the licensed hours of the center. 
4. If access to the pool is through a door, the door shall be closed, visibly locked, and 

equipped with an alarm at the door that signals when someone has entered the pool area. 
The door may not be used as an exit. 

5. Locks shall be located so that the locks cannot be opened by children. 
6. The free-standing wall of an aboveground pool may not serve as an enclosure unless 

it is at least 4 feet in height and not climbable. If a ladder is present, the ladder shall be 
removed or raised up so that it is inaccessible to children. 

7. The area around the pool enclosure shall be free of toys or equipment that would 
allow a child to climb or otherwise gain access to the pool. 

(am) A beach on the premises may not be used by children in care. Access to a beach 
shall be controlled so that children may not enter the area. 

(b) A wading pool on the premises may be used if the water is changed and the pool is 
disinfected daily. Supervision and staff-to-child ratio requirements under s. DCF 251.055 (1) 
and (2) shall be met.  

(c) A wading pool, pool, water attraction or beach that is not located on the center 
premises may be used by children, if all the following conditions are met: 

1. The construction and operation of the pool shall meet the requirements of chs. SPS 
390 and ATCP 76 for public swimming pools. A beach shall comply with any applicable local 
ordinance. 

2. Certified lifesaving personnel shall be on duty. 
  



WISCONSIN ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 

DCF-P-PFS205 (R. 01/2024) 251.06 PHYSICAL PLANT & EQUIPMENT 

36 
251.06(12)(c)3. 

3. While children are in the water of a pool, wading pool, water attraction or beach, staff-
to-child ratios for child care workers who can swim shall be:  

a. For children under 3 years of age: 1:1. 
b. For children 3 years of age: 1:4. 
c. For children 4 and 5 years of age: 1:6. 
d. For children 6 years of age and older: 1:12. 
4. When a mixed age group of children are swimming, the staff-to-child ratio shall be 

adjusted based on the number of children in the water and each child’s age.  
Note: A worksheet to help calculate the staff to child ratio for mixed aged groupings during 

swimming is available from the department. Requests may be made to the licensing representative or 
regional licensing office listed in Appendix A. 

5. A child shall be restricted to the area of the pool or beach that is within the child’s 
swimming ability. 

6. If some of the children are in the water and others are not, there shall be at least 2 
child care workers supervising the children. One child care worker shall supervise the 
children who are in the water, and the other child care worker shall supervise children who 
are not in the water. 
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DCF 251.07 Program. 

(1) PROGRAM PLANNING AND SCHEDULING. 
(a) Each group child care center shall have a written program of daily activities posted 

that are suitable for the developmental level of each child and each group of children. The 
program shall provide each child with experiences that will promote all of the following:  

Note: The Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards are voluntary standards that were designed 
to help centers develop programs and curriculum to help ensure that children are exposed to 
activities and opportunities that will prepare them for success in school and into the future. The 
Standards are primarily intended as guidance on developmentally appropriate expectations and are 
not intended to be used as a checklist to gauge a child’s progress. The Standards are based on 
scientific research. Copies of the Wisconsin Model Early Learning Standards are available on the 
Wisconsin Early Childhood Collaborating Partners website at http://www.collaboratingpartners.com/ 
or through the Child Care Information Center at 1-800-362-7353.  

Note: The standards of quality for school-age programs are addressed in the School-Age 
Curricular Framework course. More information on this course is available at 
https://www.wiafterschoolnetwork.org/en/Courses. 

1. Self-esteem and positive self-image. 
2. Social interaction.  
3. Self-expression and communication skills.  
4. Creative expression.  
5. Large and small muscle development. 
6. Intellectual growth.  
7. Literacy.  
Note: With parental consent and consultation, it is recommended that centers who care for 

children who have an Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) or an Individualized Education 
Program (IEP) coordinate programming activities with the local school district or Birth to Three 
agency. 

(b) The program schedule shall be planned to provide a flexible balance each day of:  
1. Active and quiet activities. 
2. Individual and group activities. 
3. Indoor and if the center is in operation more than 3 hours per day, outdoor activities. 
(c) Television may be used only to supplement the daily plan for children. No child may 

be required to watch television. Other activities shall be available.  
(d) Routines such as toileting and eating and intervals between activities shall be 

planned to avoid keeping children waiting in lines or assembled in large groups.  
(e) The program shall provide all of the following: 
1. Reasonable regularity in eating, napping and other routines. 
2. Daily periods when a variety of experiences are concurrently available for the children 

to select their own activities. 
3. Protection from excess fatigue and over stimulation. 
4. If a center is in operation for more than 3 hours per day, daily outdoor activities except 

during inclement weather or when not advisable for health reasons.  
(f) Child care workers shall give children individual attention.  
(g) A center that is open in the early morning and late afternoon shall have a written plan 

for activities which meet the individual needs of the children during those time periods. The 
plan shall include: 

1. Provision of opportunities for the children to rest and eat. 
2. Use of materials and engagement in activities which for the most part do not 

duplicate materials or activities planned for the major part of the program. 
(h) The program as implemented shall reflect the center’s written policies.  
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(2) CHILD GUIDANCE. 
(a) 1. In this subsection, a “time-out period” means a break from the large group that a 

child care worker offers a child to provide the child an opportunity to calm and regain 
composure while being supported by the child care worker. 

2. “Redirection” means directing the child’s attention to a different program activity.  
(b) Each child care center shall develop and implement a written policy that provides for 

positive guidance, redirection, and the setting of clear-cut limits for the children. The policy 
shall be designed to help a child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the rights 
of others.  

(c) A center may use a time-out period to handle a child’s unacceptable behavior only if 
all of the following conditions are met: 

1. The child is 3 years of age or older. 
2. The child care worker offers the child the time-out period in a non-humiliating manner. 
3. The time-out period does not exceed 3 minutes. 
4. The child is not isolated. 
5. The child is not removed from the classroom setting. 
6. If the child care worker needs additional adult support, another child care worker 

comes to the classroom setting. 
(e) Actions that may be psychologically, emotionally or physically painful, discomforting, 

dangerous or potentially injurious are prohibited. Examples of prohibited actions include all 
of the following: 

1. Spanking, hitting, pinching, shaking, slapping, twisting, throwing or inflicting any other 
form of corporal punishment. 

2. Verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about the child or the child’s family. 
3. Physical restraint, binding or tying to restrict movement or enclosing in a confined 

space such as a closet, locked room, box or similar cubicle.  
4. Withholding or forcing meals, snacks or naps. 
5. Actions that are cruel, aversive, frightening or humiliating to the child. 
(f) A child may not be punished for lapses in toilet training. 
Note: Prohibited actions by an employee or volunteer to a child by a staff member must be 

reported to the department within 24 hours after the occurrence under s. DCF 251.04 (3) (j). 

(3) EQUIPMENT AND FURNISHINGS. 
(a) Indoor furnishings and equipment shall be safe and durable. The equipment and 

furnishings shall be:  
1. Scaled to the developmental level, size and ability of the children. 
2. Of sturdy construction with no sharp, rough, loose, protruding, pinching or pointed 

edges, or areas of entrapment, in good operating condition, and anchored when necessary. 
3. Placed to avoid danger of injury or collision and to permit freedom of action. 
4. Placed over an energy-absorbing surface, when equipment is 4 feet or more in height.  
5. Used in accordance with all manufacturer’s instructions and any manufacturer’s 

recommendations that may affect the safety of children in care. 
(b) A center shall provide equipment and supplies according to the following criteria:  
1. Child development shall be fostered through selection of a variety of equipment that will: 
a. Provide large muscle development.  
b. Provide construction activities and for development of manipulative skills. 
c. Encourage social interaction.  
d. Provide intellectual stimulation. 
e. Encourage creative expression.  
2. A center shall provide sufficient indoor play equipment to allow each child a choice of 

at least 3 activities involving equipment when all children are using equipment. 
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3. A center shall provide sufficient outdoor play equipment to allow each child at least 
one activity involving equipment when all children are using equipment. 

(c) The quantity of indoor and outdoor play equipment specified in par. (b) 2. and 3. shall 
be provided based on the maximum licensed capacity of the center. 

(d) Equipment and materials which reflect an awareness of cultural and ethnic diversity 
shall be provided. 

(e) Shelves shall be provided for equipment and supplies in rooms used by children. 
Equipment and supplies shall be arranged in an orderly fashion so that children may select, 
use, and replace items. 

(f) Trampolines and inflatable bounce surfaces on the premises shall not be accessible 
to children and shall not be used by children in care. 

(g) Tables and seating shall be scaled to the proper height and size for the children’s 
comfort and reach.  

(h) There shall be sufficient storage space for the clothing and personal belongings of 
each child in attendance. For children 2 years of age and older, the space for outer garment 
storage shall be at child level.  

(i) Furnishings, toys, and other equipment shall be washed or cleaned when they become 
soiled. 

(4) REST PERIODS. 
(a) A child under 5 years of age in care for more than 4 hours shall have a nap or rest 

period. 
(b) Child care workers shall permit a child who does not sleep after 30 minutes and a 

child who awakens to get up and to have quiet time through the use of equipment or 
activities which will not disturb other children.  

(c) Each child under one year of age who naps or sleeps shall be provided with a safe, 
washable crib or playpen that meets the applicable safety standards in 16 CFR Part 1219 or 
1220 and shall be placed at least 2 feet from the nearest sleeping child. Cribs or playpens 
may be placed end-to-end if a solid partition separates the crib or playpen and an aisle not 
less than 2 feet in width is maintained between sleeping surfaces.  

(cm) Each child one year of age and older who has a nap or rest period shall be provided 
with a sleeping surface that is clean, safe, washable, and placed at least 2 feet from the 
nearest sleeping child. Sleeping surfaces may be placed end-to-end if a solid partition 
separates children and an aisle not less than 2 feet in width is maintained between sleeping 
surfaces. The sleeping surface shall be any of the following:  

1. A bed.  
2. A cot.  
3. A padded mat.  
4. A sleeping bag.  
5. A crib or playpen. 
(d) Each child one year of age and older not using a sleeping bag shall be provided with an 

individually identified sheet and blanket that may be used only by that child until it is washed. 
(e) Bedding shall be maintained and stored in a clean and sanitary manner, replaced 

immediately if wet or soiled, and washed after every 5 uses at a minimum. A crib or playpen 
shall be washed and disinfected between changes in occupancy.  

(5) MEALS, SNACKS, AND FOOD SERVICE. 
(a) Food.  
1. Food shall be provided by the center based on the amount of time children are present 

as specified in Table 251.07. 
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TABLE 251.07 
Meal and Snack Requirements for each Child  

in a Group Child Care Center 
Time a Child is Present Number of Meals and Snacks 

At least 2½ but less than 4 hours 1 snack 
At least 4 but less than 8 hours 1 snack and 1 meal 

At least 8 but less than 10 hours 2 snacks and 1 meal 
At least 10 or more hours 2 meals and 2 or 3 snacks 

 
2. Center-provided transportation time shall be included in determining the amount of 

time children are present for the purposes of subd. 1. 
3. Food shall be served at flexible intervals, but no child may go without nourishment for 

longer than 3 hours. 
4. At a minimum, children shall be provided food for each meal and snack that meets the 

U.S. department of agriculture child and adult care food program minimum meal 
requirements for amounts and types of food. 

Note: The USDA meal program requirements are found on the website, 
http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks. 

4m. Additional portions of vegetables, fruits, bread, and milk shall be available. 
5. Menus for meals and snacks provided by the center shall:  
a. Be posted in the kitchen and in a conspicuous place accessible to parents. 
b. Be planned at least one week in advance, dated and kept on file for 3 months. 
c. Be available for review by the department. 
5m. A daily menu may not be repeated within a one-week time period. 
6. Any changes in a menu as planned shall be recorded on the copies of the menu kept 

on file and posted for parents.  
6m. When snacks are provided by parents for all children, a record of the snack served 

shall be posted in an area accessible to parents. 
8. When food for a child is provided by the child’s parent, the center shall provide the parent 

with information about requirements for food groups and quantities specified by the U.S. 
department of agriculture child and adult care food program minimum meal requirements. 

9. A special diet based on a medical condition, excluding food allergies, but including 
nutrient concentrates and supplements, may be served only upon written instruction of a 
child’s physician and upon request of the parent.  

9m. A special diet based on a food allergy may be served upon the written request of the 
parent.  

10. Cooks, staff members, child care workers and substitutes having direct contact with 
the children shall be informed about food allergies and other allergies of specific children. 

 (b) Food service. 
1. Staff shall sit at the table with the children during mealtime. 
2. Meals shall be served with time allowed for socialization.  
3. Except as provided in subd. 4., in a center where meals and snacks are served, seating 

and table space shall be at least equal to the licensed capacity of the center, excluding 
infants, so that all children can be served at the same time.  

4. In a center where meals are served in a central lunchroom, seating and table space 
shall be at least equal to the number of children to be served in a shift. 

5. Eating surfaces, including high chairs, shall be washed and sanitized before and after 
each use. 
  

http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks
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(6) HEALTH. 
(a) Observation.  Each child upon arrival at a center shall be observed by a staff person 

for symptoms of illness and injury. For an apparently ill child, the procedure under par. (c) 
shall be followed.  

(b) Isolation. A center shall have an isolation area for the care of children who appear to 
be ill. If the area is not a separate room, it shall be separated from space used by other 
children by a partition, screen, or other means to keep other children away from the ill child.  

(c) Ill child procedure. The following procedures shall apply when a child with an illness 
or condition that has the potential to affect the health of other persons, such as vomiting, 
diarrhea, unusual lethargy, or uncontrolled coughing, is observed in the child care center:  

1. The child shall be isolated until the child can be removed from the center.  
2. The child in the isolation area shall be within sight and sound supervision of a staff 

member. 
3. The child shall be provided with a bed, crib, playpen, cot, or padded mat and a sheet 

and blanket or a sleeping bag.  
4. The child’s parent or emergency contact shall be contacted as soon as possible after 

the illness is discovered and arrangements shall be made for the child to be removed from 
the center.  

(d) Care of a mildly ill child. A child who is mildly ill may be cared for at the center when 
all of the following conditions are met:  

1. The space for the care of a mildly ill child shall be a self-contained room and shall be 
separate from children who are well.  

2. The room shall have a sink with hot and cold running water.  
3. The parent consents in writing.  
4. The written health policy of the center allows a mildly ill child to remain at the center.  
5. The center follows and implements procedures in a written plan for the provision of 

care to mildly ill children approved and signed by a licensed physician, or a pediatric or 
family nurse practitioner which covers all of the following: 

a. Admissions and exclusions.  
b. Staffing. 
c. Staff training. 
d. Monitoring and evaluation. 
e. Programming. 
f. Infectious disease control. 
g. Emergency procedures. 
6. Medical consultation is available from a physician or local health department in 

establishing policy for the management of mildly ill children. 
(dm) Medical log book.  
1. The licensee shall maintain a medical log book that has stitched binding with pages 

that are lined and numbered. 
2. Pages may not be removed from the medical log book under subd. 1. and lines may 

not be skipped. Each entry in the log book shall be in ink, dated, and signed or initialed by the 
person making the entry.  

3. A child care worker shall record all of the following in the medical log under subd. 1.:  
a. Any evidence of unusual bruises, contusions, lacerations, or burns seen on a child, 

regardless of whether received while in the care of the center.  
b. Any injuries received by a child while in the care of the center on the date the injury 

occurred. The record shall include the child’s name, the date and time of the injury, and a 
brief description of the facts surrounding the injury. 
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c. Any medication dispensed to a child, on the date the medication is dispensed. The 
record shall include the name of the child, type of medication given, dosage, time, date, and 
the initials or signature of the person administering the medication.  

d. Any incident or accident that occurs when the child is in the care of the center that 
results in professional medical evaluation.  

Note: See s. DCF 250.04 (8) for requirements related to reporting suspected child abuse or 
neglect.  

4. The director or the director’s designee shall review records of injuries with staff every 
6 months to ensure that all possible preventive measures are being taken. The reviews shall 
be documented in the medical log book under subd. 1. 

(e) Communicable disease.  
1. No child or other person with a reportable communicable disease specified in ch. DHS 

145 may be admitted to or be permitted to remain in a center during the period when the 
disease is communicable. 

3. An employee, volunteer or a child may be readmitted to the group child care center if 
there is a statement from a physician that the condition is no longer contagious or if the 
person has been absent for a period of time equal to the longest usual incubation period for 
the disease as specified by the department. 

Note: The Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Public Health, has developed 
materials that identify those communicable diseases that are required to be reported to the local 
public health officer. These materials also provide additional guidance on the symptoms of each 
disease and information on how long an infected child must be excluded from the center. The 
materials include a communicable disease chart and exclusion guidelines for child care centers. 
Copies of the communicable disease chart or the exclusion guidelines for child care centers are 
available from the Child Care Information Center at 800-362-7353. 

(f) Medications.  
1. Center staff may give prescription or non-prescription medication, such as pain 

relievers, teething gels or cough syrup, to a child only under the following conditions: 
a. A written authorization that includes the child’s name and birthdate, name of 

medication, administration instructions, medication intervals and length of the authorization 
dated and signed by the parent is on file. Blanket authorizations that exceed the length of 
time specified on the label are prohibited.  

Note: The department’s form, Authorization to Administer Medication — Child Care Centers, is 
used to obtain the parent’s authorization to provide medications. Information on how to obtain the 
department’s form is available on the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any 
regional licensing office in Appendix A.  

b. The medication is in the original container and labeled with the child’s name and the 
label includes the dosage and directions for administration. 

3. Medication shall be stored so that it is not accessible to the children. 
4. Medication requiring refrigeration shall be kept in the refrigerator in a separate, 

covered container clearly labeled “medication”. 
5. All medication for a child in care shall be administered by the center as directed on the 

label and as authorized by the parent. 
6. No medication intended for use by a child in the care of the center may be kept at the 

center without a current medication administration authorization from the parent.  
(g) Health precautions. 
1. Bodily secretions, such as runny noses, eye drainage, and coughed-up matter shall be 

wiped with a disposable tissue used once and placed in a plastic-lined container.  
2. Surfaces exposed to bodily secretions including walls, floors, toys, equipment, and 

furnishings shall be washed with soap and water and disinfected. The disinfectant solution 
shall be registered with the U.S. environmental protection agency as a disinfectant and have 
instructions for use as a disinfectant on the label. The solution shall be prepared and 
applied as indicated on the label.  
  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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3. As appropriate, children shall be protected from sunburn and insect bites with 
protective clothing, sunscreen, or insect repellent. Sunscreen and insect repellent may only 
be applied upon the written authorization of the parent. The authorization shall include the 
ingredient strength and be reviewed and updated every 6 months. If sunscreen or insect 
repellent is provided by the parent, the sunscreen or repellent shall be labeled with the 
child’s name. Recording the application of sunscreen or insect repellent is not necessary.  

4. Children shall be clothed to ensure body warmth and comfort. 
5. Center staff shall adopt and follow universal precautions when exposed to blood and 

blood-containing bodily fluids and injury discharges.  
6. Single use disposable gloves shall be worn if there is contact with blood-containing 

bodily fluids or tissue discharges. Gloves shall be discarded in plastic bags. 
7. Wet or soiled clothing shall be changed promptly from an available supply of clean 

clothing. 
(i) Personal cleanliness. 
1. A child’s hands shall be washed with soap and warm running water before meals and 

snacks, after handling a pet or animal, and after toileting or diapering. A child’s hands and 
face shall be washed when soiled. For children under one year of age, hands may be washed 
with soap and a wet fabric or paper washcloth that is used once and discarded.  

2. Persons working with children shall wash their hands with soap and warm running 
water before handling food, before and after assisting with toileting and diapering, after 
wiping bodily secretions from a child with a disposable tissue, and after exposure to blood 
or bodily fluids. If gloves are used, hands shall be washed after the removal of gloves. 

3. Personal use items, such as cups, eating utensils, toothbrushes, combs, and towels 
may not be shared and shall be kept in a sanitary condition.  

4. Wet or soiled clothing and diapers shall be changed promptly from an available supply 
of clean clothing.  

5. Applicable rules under s. DCF 251.09 (4) (a), (c), and (d) shall when children 2 years of 
age and older require attention for diapering and toileting. 

6. If running water is not immediately available when outdoors or on field trips, soap and 
water-based wet wipes may be used. When running water becomes available, hands must 
be washed immediately with soap and running water.  

7. Disinfecting hand sanitizers may not replace the use of soap and water when washing 
hands.  

(j) Injuries.  
1. Written permission from the parent to call a child’s physician or refer the child for 

medical care in case of injury shall be on file at the center. The center shall contact the 
parent as soon as possible after an emergency has occurred or, if the injury is minor, when 
the parent picks up the child.  

Note: The center may use the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, or its own form for 
obtaining medical consent from the parent. The form is available on the department’s website, 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

2. A center shall identify a planned source of emergency medical care, such as a hospital 
emergency room, clinic or other constantly staffed facility, and shall advise parents about 
the designated emergency medical facility. 

3. A center shall establish and follow written procedures for bringing a child to an 
emergency medical care facility and for treatment of minor injuries. 

4. First aid procedures shall be followed for serious injuries.  
5. Each center shall have a supply of bandages, tape, and Band-Aids.  
6. Superficial wounds shall be cleaned with soap and water only and protected with a 

bandaid or bandage. 
7. Suspected poisoning shall be treated only after consultation with a poison control 

center.  
Note: See s. DCF 251.04 (6) (c) on maintaining a medical log book. 

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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(7) PETS AND ANIMALS. 
(a) Animals shall be maintained in good health and appropriately immunized against 

rabies. Rabies vaccinations shall be documented with a current certificate from a 
veterinarian.  

Note: Service animals used to assist persons with a disability are not considered pets when they 
are used as a service animal. 

(b) Animals that pose any risk to the children shall be restricted from the indoor and 
outdoor areas used by children. 

(c) Licensees shall ensure that parents are aware of the presence of pets and animals in 
the center. If pets and animals are allowed to roam in areas of the center occupied by 
children, written acknowledgement from the parents shall be obtained. If pets are added 
after a child is enrolled, parents shall be notified in writing prior to the pets’ addition to the 
center.  

(d) Reptiles, amphibians, turtles, ferrets, poisonous animals, psittacine birds, exotic and 
wild animals may not be accessible to children.  

Note: Psittacine birds are hooked-billed birds of the parrot family that have 2 toes forward and 2 
toes backward and include parrots, macaws, grays, lovebirds and cockatoos. 

(e) All contact between pets or animals and children shall be under the close supervision 
of a child care worker who is close enough to remove the child immediately if the pet or 
animal shows signs of distress or the child shows signs of treating the pet or animal 
inappropriately.  

(f) Pets in classrooms shall be confined in cages while food is being prepared or served 
in the classroom. Pets, cages and litter boxes are prohibited in kitchens, lunch rooms, and 
food storage areas. Pet and animal feeding dishes, excluding water dishes, and litter boxes 
may not be placed in areas accessible to children.  

(g) Indoor and outdoor areas accessible to children shall be free of animal excrement. 
(h) If dogs or cats are allowed in areas of the center accessible to children, the 

certificate of insurance required under s. DCF 251.04 (2) (g) shall indicate the number and 
types of pets covered by the insurance.  

(i) Licensees shall ensure that the center is in compliance with all applicable local 
ordinances regarding the number, types and health status of pets or animals. 

(8) MISCELLANEOUS ACTIVITIES. A center that includes in its program watercraft, riflery, 
archery, horseback riding, or adventure-based activities shall comply with the applicable 
requirements under s. DCF 252.44 (8), (9), (11), and (13).  
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(1) APPLICABILITY.  
(a) Except as provided in par. (b), this section applies to all transportation of children in 

care, including both regularly scheduled transportation to and from the center and field trip 
transportation if any of the following apply:  

1. The licensee owns or leases the vehicle used.  
2. The licensee contracts with another individual or organization that owns or leases the 

vehicle used.  
3. Employees, parents, or volunteers are transporting children at the direction, at the 

request, or on behalf of the licensee.  
(b) The following requirements do not apply to transportation provided in vehicles 

owned and driven by parents or volunteers who are not counted in the staff-to-child ratios in 
s. DCF 251.055 (2) (b):  

1. The requirement that a licensee obtain a copy of the driver’s driving record and review 
it under sub. (4) (c).  

2. The requirement to provide evidence that the vehicle is in safe operating condition at 
12-month intervals under sub. (5) (b).  

3. The requirements related to child care vehicle safety alarms under sub. (8).  
(c) The licensee shall document in its policies that transportation provided through a 

written or verbal contract with another individual or organization meets the requirements of 
this section. 

(2) PERMISSION AND EMERGENCY INFORMATION. Before transporting a child, a licensee shall 
obtain signed permission from the parent for transportation and emergency information for 
each child. The form shall include all of the following information: 

(a) The purpose of the transportation and the parent or guardian’s permission to 
transport the child for that purpose. 

(b) An address and telephone number where a parent or other adult can be reached in an 
emergency.  

(c) The name, address, and telephone number of the child’s health care provider.  
(d) Written consent from the child’s parent or guardian for emergency medical treatment. 
Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Child Care Enrollment, to obtain consent of 

the child’s parent for emergency medical treatment. Information on how to obtain forms is available 
on the department’s website, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs.  

(3) REQUIRED INFORMATION FOR EACH TRIP. The licensee shall ensure that written 
documentation of all of the following is maintained at the center and in any vehicle 
transporting children while the children are being transported:  

(a) A list of the children being transported.  
(b) A copy of the completed permission and emergency information form under sub. (2) 

for each child being transported.  
(c) For transportation to or from a child’s home or school, the transportation route and 

scheduled stops.  

(4) DRIVER.  
(a) The driver of a vehicle used to transport children in care shall be at least 18 years of 

age and shall hold a valid driver’s license for the state where the driver resides and for the 
type of vehicle driven.  

(b) Before a driver who is not the licensee first transports children, the licensee shall 
provide the driver with a training. The licensee shall review, document, and update the 
training as necessary with each driver annually. The training shall include all of the following:  

1. The procedure for ensuring that all children are properly restrained in the appropriate 
child safety seat.  
  

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
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2. The procedure for loading, unloading, and tracking of children being transported. 
3. The procedure for evacuating the children from a vehicle in an emergency.  
4. Behavior management techniques for use with children being transported.  
5. A review of this chapter and applicable statutes under s. 347.48, Stats.  
6. A review of applicable center policies.  
7. First aid procedures.  
8. A review of child abuse and neglect laws and center reporting procedures.  
9. Information on any special needs a child being transported may have and the plan for 

how those needs will be met.  
10. A review of the use of the vehicle alarm, if applicable.  
11. Any other job responsibilities as determined by the licensee.  
(c) 1. Prior to the day a driver first transports children in care and annually thereafter, the 

licensee shall obtain a copy of the driving record for each driver and place the record in the 
staff file. The licensee shall review each driving record to ensure that the driver has no 
accidents or traffic violations that would indicate that having children ride with the driver 
could pose a threat to the children.  

2. In determining whether a driver may pose a threat to the children, the licensee shall 
consider the totality of the driver’s record, any other relevant facts, and the following factors 
in combination:  

a. The seriousness of any accidents or violations.  
b. How much time has passed since an accident or violation occurred. 
c. The number of accidents or violations.  
d. The likelihood that a similar incident will occur.  
3. A driver whose driving record indicates that the driver poses a threat to the children 

may not transport children. 
Note: Information on how to obtain driving records may be obtained by contacting the 

Department of Transportation at (608) 261-2566 or 
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/vhcl-rcd-hst/records.aspx  

(d) 1. Except as provided in subd. 2., a driver of a vehicle that is transporting children in 
care may not use a cellular phone or other wireless telecommunication device while loading, 
unloading, or transporting children, except when the vehicle is out of traffic, not in operation, 
and any of the following applies:  

a. The phone or device is used to call 911.  
b. The phone or device is used to communicate with emergency responders.  
c. The phone or device is used to communicate with the center regarding an emergency 

situation.  
2. A navigation device may be used during transportation if the device is programmed to 

a destination when the vehicle is out of traffic and not in operation.  

(5) VEHICLE. 
(a) The licensee shall ensure that each vehicle that is used to transport children is all of 

the following:  
1. Registered with the Wisconsin department of transportation or the appropriate 

authority in another state.  
2. Clean, uncluttered, and free of obstruction on the floors, aisles, and seats.  
3. In safe operating condition.  
(b) At 12-month intervals the licensee shall provide the department with evidence of a 

vehicle’s safe operating condition on a form provided by the department.  
Note: The department’s form, Vehicle Safety Inspection, is used to record evidence of the 

vehicle’s safe operating condition. Information on how to obtain forms is available on the 
department’s website, https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 
  

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/vhcl-rcd-hst/records.aspx
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(c) At least once per year, the licensee shall make available to the department each 
vehicle that is required to have a child safety alarm under sub. (8) (a) to determine whether 
the child safety alarm is in good working order.  

(d) Hired or contracted school buses used to transport children shall be in compliance 
with ch. Trans 300.  

(6) SEAT BELTS AND CHILD SAFETY RESTRAINTS.  
(a) No person may transport a child under 8 years of age in a motor vehicle, unless the 

child is restrained in a child safety restraint system that is appropriate to the child’s age and 
size and in accordance with s. 347.48 Stats., and ch. Trans 310.  

Note: For further information on child safety restraints, see 
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/child-safety/default.aspx.  

(b) 1. Each child who is not required to be in an individual child car safety seat or booster 
seat when being transported under par. (a) shall be properly restrained by a seat belt in 
accordance with s. 347.48, Stats., and ch. Trans 315.  

2. Each adult in the vehicle shall be properly restrained by a seat belt in accordance with 
s. 347.48, Stats., and ch. Trans 315.  

3. Seat belts may not be shared.  
(c) Children transported in school buses or vehicles built to school bus standards shall 

be properly seated according to the manufacturer’s specifications.  
(d) Children under 13 years of age who are in the care of the center may not ride in the 

front seat of a vehicle.  

(7) VEHICLE CAPACITY AND SUPERVISION.  
(a) The center shall be responsible for a child from the time the child is placed in a 

vehicle until the children reaches his or her destination and is released to a person 
responsible for the child. A parent of a school age child may authorize a child to enter a 
building unescorted.  

Note: The form Transportation Permission - Child Care Centers may be used to designate an adult 
to receive a child being transported. Forms are available on the department’s website at 
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 

(b) Children may not be left unattended in a vehicle.  
(c) When children are transported in a vehicle, there shall be at least one adult supervisor 

in addition to the driver whenever there are more than 3 children who are either under 2 
years of age or who have a disability that limits their ability to respond to an emergency.  

(d) The licensee shall develop and implement a procedure to ensure that all children exit 
the vehicle after being transported to a destination.  

(e) No child may be in a vehicle for transport to or from a center, a field trip, or other 
center activity for more than 60 minutes for a one-way trip.  

(8) CHILD CARE VEHICLE SAFETY ALARM.  
(a) A vehicle shall be equipped with a child safety alarm that prompts the driver to 

inspect the vehicle for children before exiting if all of the following conditions apply:  
1. The vehicle is owned or leased by a licensee or a contractor of a licensee.  
2. The vehicle has a seating capacity of 6 or more passengers plus the driver. The 

seating capacity of the vehicle shall be determined by the manufacturer.  
3. The vehicle is used to transport children in care.  
(b) No person may shut off a child safety alarm unless the driver first inspects the 

vehicle to ensure that no child is left unattended in the vehicle.  
(c) The child safety alarm shall be in good working order each time the vehicle is used 

for transporting children to or from a center.  
Note: Information on the required vehicle safety alarm is available in the “child care 

licensing/information for providers” section of the department website at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov.

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/safety/education/child-safety/default.aspx
https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs
http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(1) APPLICABILITY AND GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 
(a) Group child care centers providing care and supervision to infants and toddlers shall 

comply with the additional requirements of this section. 
(am) Prior to admission, the licensee shall obtain written information from a child’s 

parent or guardian to individualize the program of care for the child. Child care workers shall 
use the information obtained from the parents to provide care to the child. Information shall 
include all of the following:  

1. Schedule of meals and feeding.  
2. Types of food introduced and timetable for new foods. 
3. Toileting and diapering procedures. 
4. Sleep and nap schedule. 
5. The child’s way of communicating and being comforted.  
6. Developmental and health history.  
Note: The licensee may use the department’s form, Intake for Child Under 2 Years — Child Care 

Centers, or the licensee’s own form to record information for individualizing the program of care for 
each child. Information on how to obtain the department’s form is available on the department’s 
website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 

(b) Admission information for an infant or toddler shall be on file in the room or area to 
which the child is assigned and shall be known to the child care worker. 

(c) Child care workers shall document changes in a child’s development and routines 
every 3 months based on discussion with the parent. 

(d) Each infant and toddler shall be cared for by a regularly assigned child care worker in 
a self-contained room or area.  

(e) The regularly assigned child care teacher and assistant child care teacher for each 
group of infants and toddlers shall have a minimum of 10 hours of training in infant and 
toddler care approved by the department within 6 months after assuming the position. If the 
training is not part of the required preservice entry-level training under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (f) 
or (g), it shall be obtained through continuing education. 

(f) Infants and toddlers are restricted to first floors and ground floors having direct grade-
level exits unless the building is in compliance with all applicable building codes that permit 
children to be cared for on other levels. The building inspection report on file with the licensing 
office shall indicate where care may be provided for children under 30 months of age.  

(g) Safety gates shall be provided at open stairways.  
(h) For centers licensed on or after January 1, 2009, the space occupied by cribs shall be 

deducted in determining the 35 square feet space requirement under s. DCF 251.06 (7) (a) 
for each child.  

(i) The number of children under one year of age admitted at any one time may not 
exceed the number of cribs and playpens.  

(j) Cribs and playpens shall contain a tight-fitting mattress and a mattress covering that 
fits snugly over the mattress.  

(k) Sheets or blankets used to cover a child one year of age or older shall be kept away 
from the child’s mouth and nose, and if sleeping in a crib or playpen shall be tucked tightly 
under the mattress. 

(L) A child under one year of age may not sleep in a crib or playpen that contains soft or 
loose materials, such as sheepskins, pillows, blankets, flat sheets, bumper pads, bibs, 
pacifiers with attached soft objects, or stuffed animals. No blankets and other items may be 
hung on the sides of the crib or playpen. 

(m) An audio monitoring device shall be used in any area or room where children under 
one year of age are placed to sleep. 

(n) Waterbeds may not be used by children under 2 years of age. 
 

  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(2) DAILY PROGRAM. In addition to the requirements under s. DCF 251.07, all of the 
following apply to the care of infants and toddlers. 

(a) Child care workers shall respond promptly to a crying child’s needs. 
(b) Each infant and each toddler shall be allowed to form and follow his or her own 

pattern of sleeping and waking. 
(bm) Each child under one year of age shall be placed to sleep on his or her back in a 

crib unless otherwise specified in writing by the child’s physician. The child shall be allowed 
to assume the position most comfortable to him or her when able to roll over unassisted.  

(c) Emphasis in activities shall be given to play as a learning and growth experience. 
(d) Throughout the day each infant and each toddler shall receive physical contact and 

attention such as being held, rocked, talked to, sung to and taken on walks inside and 
outside the center. 

(e) Routines relating to activities such as taking a nap, eating, diapering and toileting 
shall be used as occasions for language development and other learning experiences.  

(f) When a non-mobile child is awake, the child care worker shall change the child’s body 
position and location in the room periodically. Non-mobile children who are awake shall be 
placed on their stomach occasionally throughout the day.  

(g) The non-walking child who can creep or crawl shall be given opportunities during 
each day to move freely by creeping and crawling in a safe, clean, open, warm and 
uncluttered area. 

(h) Child care workers shall encourage infants and toddlers to play with a wide variety of 
safe toys and objects.  

(j) When infants and toddlers are taken outdoors for a walk, equipment, such as strollers 
or wagons, shall be provided. 

(k) An adult-size rocking chair or other adult-size chair shall be provided for each child 
care worker.  

(3) FEEDING.  
(a) Child care workers shall do all of the following: 
1. Feed each infant and each toddler on the child’s own feeding schedule. 
2. Ensure that food, breast milk, and formula brought from home are labeled with the 

child’s name and the date and are refrigerated, if required.  
2m. Ensure each infant and toddler is correctly fed the food, breastmilk, or formula 

labeled with the infant’s or toddler’s name. 
3. Ensure that food, breast milk, and formula offered to infants and toddlers is 

consistent with the requirements of the U.S. department of agriculture child and adult care 
food program. 

Note: Information on the meal program requirements of the Child and Adult Care Food Program 
may be found on the following website, http://www.fns.usda.gov/cacfp/meals-and-snacks. 

7. Discard leftover milk or formula within 2 hours after each feeding and rinse bottles 
after use.  

8. Offer drinking water to infants and toddlers, as appropriate, several times daily.  
9. Hold a child who is unable to hold a bottle whenever a bottle is given. Bottles may not 

be propped. 
10. Cover, date and refrigerate commercial baby food containers which are opened and 

foods prepared in the center which are stored. If not used within 36 hours, leftover food shall 
be discarded. 

11. Hold or place a child too young to sit in a high chair in an infant seat during feeding. 
Wide-based high chairs, hook-on chairs or infant seats with safety straps shall be provided 
for children who are not developmentally able to sit at tables and chairs.  

12. Encourage children to experiment with self-feeding with their hands and spoons. 
Eating utensils and cups shall be scaled to the size and developmental level of the children.  
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13. Offer a variety of nourishing foods to each child according to the child’s 
developmental level and the parent’s feeding instructions. 

14. Refrain from feeding a child directly from commercial food containers. 
15. Refrain from heating breast milk or formula in a microwave oven. 
(b) Procedures for heating infant formula, milk, and food shall be posted, and child care 

workers shall follow the posted procedures. 
(c) Infant bottles and nipples may not be reused without first being cleaned and sanitized. 

(4) DIAPERING AND TOILETING.  
(a) Child care workers shall do all of the following: 
1. Plan toilet training in cooperation with the parent so that a child’s toilet routine is 

consistent between the center and the child’s home, except that no routine attempts may be 
made to toilet train a child under 18 months of age.  

2. Change wet or soiled diapers promptly.  
3. Change each child on an easily cleanable surface that is cleaned with soap and water 

and a disinfectant solution after each use. The disinfectant solution shall be registered with 
the U.S. environmental protection agency as a disinfectant and have instructions for use as a 
disinfectant on the label. The solution shall be prepared and applied as indicated on the label.  

4. If the diapering surface is above floor level, provide a barrier or restraint to prevent 
falling. A child may not be left unattended on the diapering surface. 

5. Place disposable soiled diapers and gloves, if used, in a plastic-lined, hands-free, 
covered container immediately. 

6. Place parent-supplied soiled cloth diapers in labeled plastic bags which are kept 
separate from other clothing. 

7. Place center-supplied soiled cloth diapers in a plastic-lined, covered container for 
washing by a commercial diaper service. 

8. Remove soiled diapers from containers as needed but at least daily for washing or 
disposal. Containers shall be washed and disinfected daily.  

10. Apply lotions, powders or salves to a child during diapering only at the specific 
written direction of the child’s parent or the child’s physician. The directions on use shall be 
posted in the diaper changing area. Recording the use of lotions, powders or salves during 
diapering in the medical log book is not required.  

11. Wash the child’s diaper area before each diapering with a disposable or fabric towel 
used only once.  

(b) Each self-contained classroom or area serving infants or toddlers who are diapered 
shall have a sink with hot and cold running water which is not used for food preparation or 
dishwashing within the room or area.  

(c) There shall be a solid barrier between the diapering area and any food preparation 
area.  

(d) There shall be a supply of diapers sufficient to meet the needs of the children using 
diapers at the center.  
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DCF 251.094 Staff in school-age programs.  

(1) APPLICABILITY.  
(a) This section applies to group child care centers that serve only school-age children 

and group child care centers that serve school-age children in groups separate from children 
who are under 5 years of age. 

(b) Except for s. DCF 251.09, all requirements under ss. DCF 251.04 to 251.12 apply to 
school-age programs in addition to or except as specified in this section and s. DCF 
251.095. 

(2) SCHOOL-AGE ADMINISTRATOR. 
(a) The licensee may act as a school-age administrator. If the licensee does not act as 

the school-age administrator, the licensee shall designate a person or persons to be the 
school-age administrator. The school-age administrator shall be responsible for overall 
organizational management, including personnel, finance, physical plant, and the 
implementation of policies and procedures. 

(b) A school-age administrator, including a licensee that is a school-age administrator, 
shall meet either the qualifications of an administrator under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (d) 2. to 5. or 
the qualifications in this subsection. 

(c) A school-age administrator shall be at least 21 years of age and have completed high 
school or its equivalent, as determined by the Wisconsin department of public instruction. 

(d) 1. Before a person assumes the position of school-age administrator, the person 
shall have all the following: 

a. At least one year of experience as a manager or satisfactory completion of a 
department-approved course in business or program administration. 

b. One year of experience as a school-age director or satisfactory completion of a 
noncredit department-approved course or course for credit in school-age child growth and 
development. 

2. Notwithstanding subd. 1., a person is not required to complete the preservice training 
specified in subd. 1. if the person was employed as an administrator in a school-age 
program prior to the effective date of this paragraph [March 1, 2023], and met the preservice 
training requirements at that time. 

(e) Within one year after assuming the position, each school-age administrator shall 
complete at least 10 hours of training in supervision or personnel management if the 
school-age administrator has not previously received that training. The training may be 
counted as part of the annual continuing education requirement. 

(2m) SCHOOL-AGE ADMINISTRATOR AND SCHOOL-AGE DIRECTOR. An individual may perform the 
duties of both a school-age administrator under sub. (2) (a) and a school-age director under 
sub. (3) (a) if the individual meets the qualifications for both positions under subs. (2) (b) to 
(e) and (3) (b) to (d). 

(3) SCHOOL-AGE DIRECTOR. 
(a) A school-age director shall be responsible for the management and implementation 

of the program for the school-age children; supervision of the staff, including recruitment, 
hiring, and training; oversight for regulatory compliance; and development of policies and 
procedures. 

(b) No person may act as the school-age director for more than 5 school-age program 
sites. 

(c) A school-age director shall meet either the qualifications of a center director under s. 
DCF 251.05 (3) (e) 3. to 5. or all of the following qualifications: 

1. Be at least 21 years of age. 
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2. Have completed high school or its equivalent as determined by the Wisconsin 
department of public instruction. 

3. Have at least 240 hours of experience as a school-age program leader, public or 
private school teacher, student teacher, coach, camp counselor, mentor in a community-
based organization, or equivalent experience in another approved setting. 

4. Have completed at least one of the preservice training requirements in Table 251.094 
prior to beginning work as a school-age director, except as specified in par. (d). The school-
age director shall also complete any additional training requirements in Table 251.094 as 
provided. 

Table 251.094 
Director of a school-age program 

Preservice training Additional training 
A combination of 2 noncredit department-
approved courses in school-age care and 6 
credits in leadership, management, 
education, physical education, community 
health, child guidance, recreation, 
psychology, social work, or juvenile justice 

Within one year of assuming the position, at 
least 10 hours in staff supervision or 
coaching and mentoring 

Twelve credits in leadership, management, 
education, physical education, community 
health, child guidance, recreation, 
psychology, social work, or juvenile justice 

Within one year of assuming the position, at 
least 10 hours in staff supervision or 
coaching and mentoring 

Forty-eight credits with at least 2 credits in 
school-age child growth and development 

Within one year of assuming the position, at 
least 10 hours in staff supervision or 
coaching and mentoring 

The Registry Afterschool & Youth 
Development Credential 

No additional training required 

The Registry Child Care Administrator 
Credential 

No additional training required 

An associate degree from an accredited 
institution of higher education 

No additional training required 

A bachelor’s degree from an accredited 
institution of higher education 

No additional training required 
 
 

An educator license issued by the 
Wisconsin department of public instruction 
or the appropriate authority in another state 
to be a kindergarten, early childhood, 
middle school, or high school regular or 
special education teacher 

No additional training required 

 
Note: The noncredit courses approved by the department to meet the entry-level training 

requirements for a school-age director are Introduction to the School-Age Care Profession and Skills 
and Strategies for the School-Age Teacher. School-age directors may also meet this requirement by 
completing both Guiding Behavior of Children in School-Age Programs and School-Age Curricular 
Framework in place of Skills and Strategies for the School-Age Teacher. 

(d) A person employed as a director in a school-age program prior to the effective date 
of this paragraph [March 1, 2023], is not required to complete the preservice training 
specified in par. (c) 4. 
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(4) SCHOOL-AGE PROGRAM LEADER. 
(a) A school-age program leader shall plan, implement, and supervise the daily activities 

for a group of children, and is also responsible for communication with families, relations 
with the community, and coordination with other school-age staff. 

(b) A school-age program leader shall meet either the qualifications of a child care 
teacher under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (f) 2. and 3. or all the following conditions: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age. 
2. Have completed high school or its equivalent as determined by the Wisconsin 

department of public instruction. 
3. Have at least 240 hours of experience as a group leader, school-age assistant, public 

or private school teacher, student teacher or practicum, coach, camp counselor, mentor 
through a community-based organization, or in another approved setting. 

(c) Prior to assuming the position, a person hired to be a school-age program leader 
shall complete or obtain one of the following: 

1. Four credits in school-age child growth and development or its equivalent. 
2. The first 2 courses of the Registry Afterschool & Youth Development Credential. 
3. Two noncredit department-approved courses for school-age program and group 

leaders. 
Note: The noncredit courses approved by the department to meet the entry level training 

requirements for a school-age program leader are Introduction to the School-Age Care Profession 
and Skills and Strategies for the School-Age Teacher. School-age program leaders may also meet this 
requirement by completing both Guiding Behavior of Children in School-Age Programs and School-
Age Curricular Framework in place of Skills and Strategies for the School-Age Teacher. 

4. One noncredit department-approved course and 2 credits in education, physical 
education, community health, child guidance, recreation, psychology, social work, or juvenile 
justice. 

Note: The noncredit course approved by the department to meet the entry level training 
requirement for a school-age program leader in combination with 2 credits is Introduction to the 
School-Age Care Profession. 

(5) SCHOOL-AGE GROUP LEADER. 
(a) A school-age group leader shall work under the supervision of a school-age program 

leader. 
(b) A school-age group leader shall work with the program leader to plan, implement, and 

supervise the daily activities for a group of children. 
(c) A school-age group leader shall meet either the qualifications of an assistant child 

care teacher under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (g) 2. or 3. or meet all the following conditions: 
1. Be at least 18 years of age. 
2. Have completed high school or its equivalent as determined by the Wisconsin 

department of public instruction. 
3. Have satisfactorily completed one of the following within 6 months after assuming 

the position: 
a. A noncredit department-approved course in school-age care. 
Note: Introduction to the School-Age Care Profession is the noncredit course approved by the 

department to meet the entry level training requirements for a school-age group leader. 
b. Two credits in school-age child growth and development or its equivalent. 
c. The first course of the Registry Afterschool & Youth Development Credential. 

(6) SCHOOL-AGE PROGRAM AIDE. 
(a) A school-age program aide shall work under the direction and supervision of a 

school-age program leader. 
(b) A person who is a school-age program aide shall be at least 16 years of age. 
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(c) A school-age program aide shall either meet the qualifications of a program aide 
under s. DCF 251.05 (3) (gm) 3. or have satisfactorily completed at least one of the 
following within 6 months after assuming the position: 

1. An assistant child care teacher training program approved by the Wisconsin 
department of public instruction. 

2. At least 10 hours of training approved by the department in the care of school-age 
children. 

3. A noncredit department-approved course in school-age care. 
Note: Introduction to the School-Age Care Profession is the noncredit course approved 

by the department to meet the entry-level training requirements for a school-age program 
aide. 
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DCF 251.095 Additional requirements, modifications, and exceptions for school-age 
programs.  

(1m) APPLICABILITY.  
(a) This section applies only to group child care centers that serve only school-age 

children and group child care centers that serve school-age children in groups separate from 
children who are under 5 years of age.  

(b) Except for s. DCF 251.09, all requirements under ss. DCF 251.04 to 251.12 apply to 
school-age programs in addition to or except as specified in this section and s. DCF 
251.094. 

(2m) SUPERVISION. All of the following modify or are in addition to the requirements in s. 
DCF 251.055 (1): 

(a) A school-age program shall be responsible for the health, safety, and well-being of a 
school-age child between the time the child arrives at the school-age program and the time 
the child is released to the child’s parent or to another activity that is specifically authorized 
in writing by the child’s parent. 

(b) Notwithstanding s. DCF 251.055 (1) (a), each child 7 years of age and older shall be 
supervised by a school-age program leader or child care teacher who is within sight or 
sound of the child to guide the child’s behavior and activities, prevent harm, and ensure 
safety, except as provided in pars. (d) to (f). 

Note: DCF 251.055 (1) (a) requires sight and sound supervision. 
(c) Notwithstanding s. DCF 251.055 (1) (b), at least one school-age program leader or 

child care teacher shall supervise each group of school-age children, except as provided in 
pars. (d) and (e). 

(d) Notwithstanding s. DCF 251.055 (1) (c), a school-age group leader who has 
completed the training required under s. DCF 251.094 (5) (c) 3. or an assistant child care 
teacher who has completed the training required under DCF 251.05 (3) (g) 2. and is age 18 
or over may provide sole supervision for a group of school-age children for no more than 45 
minutes if there is a qualified school-age program leader or child care teacher on the 
premises. 

(e) A child 7 years of age or older may be authorized by the child care worker supervising 
the child to participate in program-sponsored activities in a school-age program away from 
the direct supervision of the assigned child care worker. 

(f) A child 7 years of age and older may move between groups of children if a tracking 
method is implemented to ensure that the assigned child care worker knows the 
whereabouts of the child. 

(g) When 9 or more children are on a field trip, there shall be at least 2 child care workers 
accompanying the children and the staff-to-child ratios in Table DCF 251.055 shall be 
maintained. Notwithstanding s. DCF 251.055 (2) (j), at least one of the child care workers 
shall be a school-age program leader or a child care teacher. 

(h) A school-age program shall have on file an agreement, signed by the parent, that 
specifies the attendance schedule to be followed and authorizes the child’s release to 
activities away from the school-age program. 

Note: The licensee may use either the department’s form, DCF-F-CFS0104-E, Alternate 
Arrival/Release Agreement – Child Care Centers, or the licensee’s own form for securing the parent’s 
signed agreement. The form is available at https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/cclicensing/ccformspubs. 
 

(3m) ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR MEALS AND SNACKS. In addition to the requirements on 
meals, snacks, and food service in s. DCF 251.07 (5), the following provisions apply to 
school-age programs: 

(a) All children attending a school-age program when a meal or snack is served shall be 
offered the meal or snack. 

(b) School-age children present after school shall be served a snack. 
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(4m) EXCEPTIONS FOR SCHOOL-AGE PROGRAMS. The following provisions do not apply to 
school-age programs: 

(a) Section DCF 251.06 (2) (b), only regarding protection of electrical outlets. All other 
protective measures in s. DCF 251.06 (2) (b) apply. 

(b) Section DCF 251.06 (11) (b) 7., regarding a permanent enclosure of outdoor play 
space. If hazards exist, such as traffic or bodies of water, the boundaries of outdoor play 
space shall be known to the children. 

(c) Section DCF 251.07 (3) (e) and (h), regarding shelves and storage space for clothing 
and personal belongings. 

(5m) EXCEPTIONS AND MODIFICATIONS FOR SCHOOL-AGE PROGRAMS IN SCHOOL BUILDINGS. 
(a) Exceptions. The following requirements do not apply to school-age programs in 

school buildings that are currently in use as school buildings: 
1. Section DCF 251.04 (6) (a) 6m., relating to documentation of a school-age child’s 

immunization records, only if the school-age program has approved access to the school’s 
vaccination records. 

2. Section DCF 251.06 (1) (a), relating to maintaining a building inspection report. 
3. Section DCF 251.06 (2) (n), relating only to the requirement that garbage containers 

be covered. All other requirements of s. DCF 251.06 (2) (n) shall be met. 
4. Section DCF 251.06 (2) (o), relating to the requirement that windows and doors used 

for ventilation be screened. 
5. Section DCF 251.06 (2) (p), relating to radon testing. 
6. Section DCF 251.06 (4) (a), relating to fire extinguishers. 
7. Section DCF 251.06 (4) (jm) 2., relating to testing or monitoring smoke detectors and 

fire alarms. 
8. Section DCF 251.06 (6) (b), relating to testing private well water. 
9. Section DCF 251/06 (11) (b) 5., relating to the requirement for an energy absorbing 

surface on playgrounds to a depth of at least 9 inches. 
(b) Modifications. Notwithstanding ss. DCF 251.04 (3) (h) and (L) and 251.05 (2) (a), the 

following modified versions of the specified provisions apply to school-age programs in 
school buildings that are currently in use as school buildings: 

1. Section DCF 251.04 (3) (h), except that the licensee shall report 10 days prior to the 
change instead of 20 days. 

2. Section DCF 251.04 (3) (L), except that the licensee shall report any construction or 
remodeling on the premises that has the potential to affect an area accessible to children or 
a condition of the license in writing at least 10 working days before the construction or 
remodeling begins. 

3. Section DCF 251.05 (2) (a), except that the licensee shall maintain a file on each 
employee or contracted employee. The file shall be available for examination by the 
licensing representative at the location of the school-age program within 2 hours after the 
request and shall include all of the following: 

Note: The required records may be in an electronic format at the school-age program site.  
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DCF 251.10 Additional requirements for night care.  

(1) APPLICABILITY. Group child care centers that operate during any period of time between 
10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. shall comply with the additional requirements of this section. 

(2) GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. 
(a) A center offering night care may serve no more than 20 children at any one time 

between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless the building is equipped with emergency lighting 
supplied by a stand-by power source.  

(b) When the same premises is used for the operation of both day care and night care, 
the number of children during any overlapping of the day care and night care periods may 
not exceed the maximum licensed capacity of the center.  

(c) Minimum staff-to-child ratios and group sizes as specified in s. DCF 251.055 (2) shall 
be maintained during night care.  

(d) All child care workers on duty shall remain awake, available, within call and able to 
respond to the needs of the children during night care. 

(e) The parent or center shall provide each child in night care with an individually labeled 
sleeping garment and a toothbrush.  

(3) PROGRAM. 
(a) Child care staff shall work with a child’s parent to coordinate how the child spends 

his or her time during night care at the center with the family’s schedule.  
(b) A center offering night care shall provide a self-contained room away from sleeping 

children where an awake child can engage in activities.  
(c) An evening and morning schedule of program activities shall be planned for the 

hours that children in night care are awake. 
(d) School-age children shall have an opportunity to read or do school work. 

(4) PREVENTIVE MEASURES. 
(a) Child care workers shall be given training in techniques of evacuating sleeping 

children in an emergency during orientation to the job.  
(b) Centers operating during hours of darkness shall provide emergency lighting, such as 

an operable flashlight, for each self-contained room used by children.  
(c) Fire evacuation drills shall be practiced during night care hours at least 2 times per year.  

(5) FEEDING.  
(a) Breakfast shall be served to all children in care for the night, unless the parent 

specifies otherwise.  
(b) A nighttime snack shall be available to all children in care.  
(c) A child present at the time the evening meal is served shall be served the evening meal. 

(6) SLEEP.  
(a) Children who attend the center for the evening hours but not the whole night shall 

have an opportunity to sleep, as needed. 
(b) Sleep routines for individual children shall be based on information provided by the 

parents.  
(c) A bed, crib or cot with sheets and blankets or a sleeping bag, individual to each child, 

shall be provided in night care.  
(d) The center shall maintain a supply of extra sleeping garments and bedding for 

emergencies and accidents.  
(e) Children under 2 years of age in night care shall sleep in cribs. 
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DCF 251.11 Licensing administration. 

(1) GENERAL CONDITIONS FOR APPROVAL OF LICENSE. 
(a) A facility that provides care on a regular basis to 9 or more children under the age of 

7 years shall be deemed to be providing care for compensation and shall be licensed as a 
group child care center. 

(b) Prior to receiving a license, an applicant for a license under this chapter shall 
complete all application forms truthfully and accurately and pay all fees and forfeitures due 
to the department. 

(c) The department may refuse to issue or continue a license if another center operated 
by the licensee is in substantial non-compliance with the licensing rules or has any 
outstanding fine or forfeitures. 

(d) Persons licensed to operate a group child care center shall be responsible, mature 
individuals who are fit and qualified. In determining whether an applicant is fit and qualified, 
the department shall consider any history of civil or criminal violations or other offenses 
substantially related to the care of children by the applicant, owner, manager, representative, 
employee, center resident or other individual directly or indirectly participating in the 
operation of the group child care center. A determination of being unfit and unqualified 
includes substantiated findings of child abuse or neglect under ch. 48, Stats., or 
substantiated abuse under ch. 50, Stats., or under similar statutes in another state or 
territory whether or not it results in a criminal charge or conviction. 

(e) The department shall issue a group child care license to an applicant within 60 
working days after receipt and department approval of a properly completed application, 
satisfactory department investigation and determination that the applicant is fit and 
qualified. Continued licensure requires a licensee to remain fit and qualified. 

(f) If the department has reason to believe that the physical or mental health of any 
person associated with the care of children at the center or any household resident of the 
center might endanger children in care, the department may require that a written statement 
be submitted by a physician or, if appropriate, by a licensed mental health professional that 
shall certify the condition of the individual and the possible effect of that condition on the 
group child care center or the children in care. 

(g) The department may deny or revoke the license if the examination specified under 
par. (f) gives the department reasonable concern for the care of children. 

(h) The department may not process an application for a license if the applicant has had 
a license or certification to operate a child care center revoked or denied within the last 2 
years. An applicant is deemed ineligible to submit an application for a license and a licensee 
may not hire an employee within 2 years from the date an applicant or employee had a child 
care license revoked or denied. 

(i) The department shall consider a licensee who fails to submit any of the materials 
described in sub. (3) or (4) by the expiration or continuation date of a license to have 
surrendered his or her license and to no longer hold title to the license. The former licensee 
may not continue to operate the child care center. 

(2) INITIAL APPLICATION FOR A PROBATIONARY LICENSE. 
(a) An applicant for a license shall participate in pre-licensing technical assistance 

towards the completion of the initial licensing study checklist with a representative of the 
department prior to submitting an application for a license. 

Note: 1. Information on how to obtain pre-licensing technical assistance is available from the 
appropriate Division of Early Care and Education regional office in Appendix A. The department will 
provide the application form to a license applicant upon completion of the pre-licensing technical 
assistance. 

2. An initial licensing study checklist includes a list of those licensing rules that must be met 
before a license can be issued. A copy of the checklist is available from a representative of the 
department or from the appropriate regional office in Appendix A.   
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(b) An applicant for a license shall submit an application at least 60 days before the date 
proposed for the center to begin operating. 

(c) An applicant for an initial license shall include all the following with the application 
form: 

1. The license fee required under s. 48.65 (3) (a), Stats. 
2. a. A background check request form completed by the applicant. 
b. If the applicant is a limited liability company, background check request forms 

completed by all members of the limited liability company. 
c. If the center is or will be located in a residence, background check request forms 

completed by all household members 10 years of age and above.  
3. A statement from a representative of the department that details the results of any 

pre-licensing technical assistance. 
4. A statement from the applicant that indicates the center is in compliance with all 

applicable items in this chapter. 
5. A copy of all the policies required under s. DCF 251.04 (2) (h) and a completed copy of 

the group child care policy checklist provided by the department. 
Note: Information on how to obtain a copy of the Group Child Care Policy Checklist is available on 

the department’s website, http://dcf.wisconsin.gov, or from any regional licensing office in Appendix A. 
5g. The articles of incorporation and by-laws if the licensee is organized as a 

corporation, association or cooperative. If the licensee is a limited liability company, articles 
of organization and the operating agreement, if applicable, shall be submitted. 

5r. A written delegation of administrative authority signed by the licensee. The 
delegation of administrative authority shall describe the organizational structure of the 
center and identify by position or name, those persons on the premises who are in charge of 
the center for all hours of operation. 

5u. Results of water tests if the center has a private well. 
5x. Results of a vehicle safety inspection if the center will transport children. 
6. Any other materials determined by the department as necessary to complete the 

department’s licensing investigation. 
(d) Upon submission of a complete application, the department shall conduct an 

investigation to determine whether the applicant is eligible for a license. 
(e) If the department determines that the applicant is eligible for a license, the 

department shall issue a probationary license having a 6-month duration. A probationary 
license may be renewed for one 6-month period. 

(f) If the department determines that an application does not comply with the applicable 
requirements of this chapter or the department’s investigation determines that the applicant 
is not eligible for a license, the department may deny the application. 

(3) OBTAINING A REGULAR LICENSE. 
(a) At least 30 days before the expiration date of a probationary license, an applicant for 

license renewal shall submit to the department the following materials: 
1. A completed license application. 
3. The license renewal fee under s. 48.65 (3) (a), Stats., applicable fees for child care 

background checks, and any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) or 49.155 (7m) (a) 3., 
Stats., and any penalty under s. 48.76, Stats. 

4. Any changes to center policies, if not previously submitted. 
5. Any changes to the delegation of administrative authority if not previously submitted. 
6. Any other materials determined by the department as necessary to complete the 

department’s licensing investigation. 
  

http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/
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(b) If the department determines that the applicant has met the minimum requirements 
for a license under this chapter, and if the applicant has paid the applicable fees under ss. 
48.65 and 48.686, Stats., any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) (a)  or 49.155 (7m) (a) 3., 
Stats., and any unpaid penalty under s. 48.76, Stats., the department shall issue a regular 
license. 

(4) CONTINUING A REGULAR LICENSE. 
(a) A regular license shall be valid indefinitely, unless suspended or revoked by the 

department or surrendered by the licensee. The department shall review a regular license 
every 2 years after the date of issuance. 

(b) At least 30 days before the continuation review date of the license, an applicant for 
license renewal shall submit to the department the following materials: 

1. A completed license continuation application. 
3. The license renewal fee under s. 48.65 (3) (a), Stats., applicable fees for child care 

background checks under s. 48.686, Stats., and unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715 (3) or 
49.155 (7m) (a) 3., Stats., and any unpaid penalty under s. 48.76, Stats. 

4. Any changes to center policies, if not previously submitted. 
5. Any changes to the delegation of administrative authority if not previously submitted.  
5g. Results of water tests if the center has a private well. 
5r. Results of a vehicle safety inspection if the center will transport children. 
6. Any other materials determined by the department as necessary to complete the 

department’s licensing investigation. 
Note: The department will supply a copy of the form, License Application — Group Child Care 

Centers, prior to the continuation date of the license. 
(c) If the department determines that the licensee has met the minimum requirements for 

a license under this chapter., has paid the applicable fees under ss. 48.65 and 48.66, Stats., 
any unpaid forfeiture under s. 48.715(3)(a) or 49.155(7m)(a)3., Stats., and any unpaid penalty 
under s. 48.76, Stats., the department shall continue the license for an additional 2 years. 

(5) AMENDING A LICENSE.  
(a) A licensee shall submit to the department a written request for an amendment to the 

license if the licensee wishes to change any of the following aspects of the license:  
1. A change in the licensed capacity of the center.  
2. The age range of the children.  
3. The hours of the center’s operation.  
4. The days of the week the center is in operation.  
5. The months of the year the center is in operation.  
6. The name of the center. 
(b) A licensee may not make a change that affects a condition of the license under par. (a) 

without the prior written approval of the department. 
(c) A licensee may not move the center to a new location or change ownership of the 

center without notifying the department at least 30 days prior to the change. A new 
application and license is required when a center moves or changes ownership.  

Note: The department’s form, License Application — Group Child Care Centers, is used to apply 
for a new license. The department will provide an application when notified by the licensee that the 
center will move to a new location. 

(d) A licensee proposing to increase the licensed capacity of a center shall demonstrate 
compliance with this chapter in the operation of the existing center and compliance with 
rules for any other facility licensed by the department and operated by the licensee. 
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(6) ADDITIONAL LICENSE. A licensee applying for a license for an additional center location 
shall demonstrate compliance with this chapter in the operation of the existing center he or 
she operates and compliance with rules for any other facility licensed by the department and 
operated by the licensee. The licensee shall pay any fines, forfeitures or other fees due and 
owing under s. 48.715, Stats., or s. 48.65, Stats., on other facilities licensed by the 
department before the department issues an additional license.  

(7) LICENSE DENIAL OR REVOCATION.  
(a) The department may deny, revoke or suspend a license, initiate other enforcement 

actions specified in this chapter or in ch. 48, Stats., or place conditions on a license if the 
applicant or licensee, a proposed or current employee, a volunteer or any other person 
having regular contact with the children, has or has been any of the following: 

1. The subject of a pending criminal charge for an action that substantially relates to the 
care of children or activities of the center. 

2. Convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense or action that substantially 
relates to the care of children or activities of the center. 

3. Determined to have abused or neglected a child pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats., or has 
been determined to have committed an offense which substantially relates to the care of 
children or the activities of the center. 

4. The subject of a substantiated finding of misconduct in the department’s nurse aide 
registry under s. DHS 129.10. 

5. The subject of a court finding that the person has abandoned his or her child, has 
inflicted sexual or physical abuse on a child or has neglected or refused, for reasons other 
than poverty, to provide necessary care, food, clothing, medical or dental care or shelter for 
his or her child or ward or a child in his or her care so as to seriously endanger the physical 
health of the child. 

6. Had a child care license or certification revoked or denied within the last 5 years. 
7. Violated any provision of this chapter or ch. 48, Stats., or fails to meet the minimum 

requirements of this chapter. 
8. Made false statements or withheld information. 
Note: Examples of charges and offenses the department will consider in making a determination 

under this paragraph that an act substantially relates to the care of children are: abuse or neglect of a 
child; sexual assault; abuse of a resident of a facility; a crime against life and bodily security; 
kidnapping; abduction; arson of a building or of property other than a building; robbery; receiving 
stolen property from a child; a crime against sexual morality, such as enticing a minor for immoral 
purposes or exposing a minor to harmful materials; and interfering with the custody of a child. The 
list is illustrative. Other types of offenses may be considered. 

(b) The department may deny, revoke, refuse to renew or suspend a license, initiate other 
enforcement actions specified in this chapter or in ch. 48, Stats., or place conditions on the 
license if the applicant or licensee is not fit and qualified as determined under sub. (1). 

Note: See DCF 251.03 (11g) for the definition of “fit and qualified.”  Examples of charges, actions 
or offenses the department will consider in making a determination under this paragraph that an act 
substantially relates to the care of children include the following: abuse or neglect of a child; sexual 
assault; abuse of a resident of a facility; a crime against life and bodily security; kidnapping; 
abduction; arson of a building or of property other than a building; robbery; receiving stolen property 
from a child; a crime against sexual morality, such as enticing a minor for immoral purposes or 
exposing a minor to harmful materials, interfering with the custody of a child. The list is illustrative. 
Other types of offenses may be considered. 
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(c) The department shall deny or refuse to continue or revoke a license if the applicant or 
licensee has failed to pay court-ordered payments of child or family support, maintenance, 
birth expenses, medical expenses or other expenses related to the support of a child or 
former spouse or for the failure of the applicant or licensee to comply, after appropriate 
notices, with a subpoena or warrant issued by the department or a county child support 
agency under s. 59.53 (5), Stats., and related to paternity or child support proceedings, as 
provided in a memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857, Stats. 
Notwithstanding s. 48.72, Stats., an action taken under this subsection is subject to review 
only as provided in the memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857, Stats., 
and not as provided in s. 48.72, Stats. 

 (d) The department shall deny an application for the issuance or continuation of a 
license or revoke a license if the department of revenue certifies under s. 73.0301, Stats., 
that the applicant or licensee is liable for delinquent taxes. An action taken under this 
subsection is subject to review only as provided under s. 73.0301(5), Stats., and not as 
provided in s. 48.72, Stats. 

(8) EFFECT OF NOTICE TO DENY OR REVOKE A LICENSE. 
(a)1. If the department decides under sub. (7) to deny the grant of a license or to revoke 

a license, the department shall notify the applicant or licensee in writing of its decision and 
the reasons for that decision. 

2. If the department revokes a license, the effective date of the revocation shall be either 
immediately or 30 days after the date of the notice, based on the criteria under s. 48.715 
(4m) (a) and (b), Stats., unless the decision is appealed under sub. (10). 

(b) Upon receipt of the notice in par. (a) and during any revocation or denial procedures 
that may result, a group child care center may not accept for care any child not enrolled and 
in care as of the date of receipt of the notice without the written approval of the department. 

(9) SUMMARY SUSPENSION OF A LICENSE. 
(a) Under the authority of s. 227.51 (3), Stats., the department shall summarily suspend 

a license and close a group child care center when the department finds that the public 
health, safety or welfare requires emergency action and incorporates a finding to that effect 
into its order. A finding of a requirement for summary suspension of the license may be 
based on any of the following: 

1. Failure of the licensee to provide environmental protections for the children, such as 
heat, water, electricity or telephone service. 

2. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the 
children in care has been convicted of or has a pending charge for a crime against life or 
bodily security. 

3. The licensee, an employee, a volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the 
children in care has been convicted of a felony, misdemeanor or other offense that 
substantially relates to the care of children or activities of the center or has a pending 
charge that substantially relates to the care of children or activities of the center. 

4. The licensee, employee, volunteer or any other person in regular contact with the 
children in care is the subject of a current investigation for alleged child abuse or neglect 
pursuant to s. 48.981, Stats., or has been determined by a child protective services agency 
or law enforcement agency to have abused or neglected a child. 

5. The licensee or a person under the supervision of the license has committed an action 
or has created a condition relating to the operation or maintenance of the child care center 
that directly threatens the health, safety or welfare of any child under the care of the 
licensee. 
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(b) An order summarily suspending a license and closing a group child care center may 
be a verbal order by a licensing representative of the department. Within 72 hours after the 
order takes effect, the department shall either permit the reopening of the center or proceed 
under sub. (7) or (8) to revoke the license. A preliminary hearing shall be conducted by the 
department of administration’s division of hearings and appeals, within 10 working days 
after the date of the initial order to close, on the issue of whether the license shall remain 
suspended during revocation proceedings. 

 (10) APPEAL OF DECISION TO DENY OR REVOKE A LICENSE. Any person aggrieved by the 
department’s decision to deny a probationary or regular license or to revoke a license may 
request a hearing on that decision under s. 227.42, Stats. The request for a hearing shall be 
in writing and submitted to the department of administration’s division of hearings and 
appeals. The request for a hearing shall be sent to the division of hearings and appeals 
within 10 days after the date of the notice under sub. (8).  

Note: A request for a hearing may be mailed to Division of Hearings and Appeals, P.O. Box 7875, 
Madison, WI 53707−7875 or faxed to (608) 264−9885. A copy of the request should be sent to the 
appropriate regional licensing office listed in Appendix A. 
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DCF 251.12 Complaints, inspections and enforcement actions.  

(1) COMPLAINTS. 
(a) Anyone having a complaint about a licensed or illegally operating group child care 

center may submit that complaint to the department by telephone, letter or personal 
interview. A representative of the department shall investigate every complaint. If requested 
by the complainant, the department shall provide the complainant a written report of the 
investigation findings. 

Note: A complaint should be sent, phoned or delivered to the appropriate Division of Children and 
Family Services regional office listed in Appendix A. 

(b) The licensee may not discharge an employee because that employee has reported 
violations of this chapter to the representative of the department. 

(2) INSPECTION. Pursuant to s. 48.73, Stats., the department may visit and inspect any 
group child care center at any time during licensed hours. A department licensing 
representative shall have unrestricted access to the premises identified in the license, 
including access to children in care, staff and child records, and any other materials or 
individuals with information on the group child care center’s compliance with this chapter.  

(3) ENFORCEMENT ACTION. The department may order any sanction or impose any penalty 
on a licensee in accordance with s. 48.686, 48.715, or 48.76, Stats. 
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251.13 

DCF 251.13 Programs established or contracted for by school boards. 
 
(1) A child care program established or contracted for by a school board under s. 120.13 

(14), Stats., shall comply with the applicable standards for group child care centers under 
this chapter.  

 
(2) The department shall annually inspect each child care program established or 

contracted for by a school board under s. 120.13 (14), Stats., that receives payment under s. 
49.155, Stats., for the child care provided, and document in writing whether or not the child 
care program complies with this chapter. 
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APPENDIX A 

REGIONAL OFFICES OF THE DIVISION OF EARLY CARE AND EDUCATION 
 
The Department of Children and Families licenses child care centers through five Division of 
Early Care and Education regional offices. Below are addresses and phone numbers of the 
regional offices and the counties and tribes within each region. 
 

REGIONS COUNTIES AND TRIBES 

Northeastern Regional Office 
200 North Jefferson, Suite 411 
Green Bay, WI  54301 
Gen: (920) 785-7811 
Fax: (920) 785-7869 

Counties: Brown, Calumet, Door, Fond du Lac, 
Green Lake, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, 
Marquette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, 
Ozaukee, Shawano, Sheboygan, Washington, 
Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago 
Tribes: Menominee, Oneida, Stockbridge-
Munsee, Ho-Chunk 

Northern Regional Office 
2187 North Stevens Street, Suite C 
Rhinelander, WI  54501 
Gen: (715) 361-7700 
Fax: (715) 365-2517 

Counties: Ashland, Bayfield, Florence, Forest, 
Iron, Langlade, Lincoln, Marathon, Oneida, 
Portage, Price, Sawyer, Taylor, Vilas, Wood 
Tribes: Bad River, Lac Courte Oreille, Lac du 
Flambeau, Red Cliff, Sokaogon, Forest County 
Potawatomi, Ho-Chunk 

Southeastern Regional Office 
141 NW Barstow, Room 104 
Waukesha, WI  53188-3789 
Gen: (262) 446-7800 
Fax: (262) 446-7991 

Counties: Kenosha, Milwaukee, Racine, 
Waukesha 

Southern Regional Office 
201 W. Washington Avenue 
P.O. Box 8947 
Madison, WI  53708-8947 
Gen: (608) 422-6765 
Fax: (608) 422-6766 

Counties: Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, 
Dodge, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, 
Lafayette, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Walworth 
Tribes: Ho-Chunk 

Western Regional Office 
610 Gibson Street, Suite 2 
Eau Claire, WI  54701-3696 
Gen: (715) 930-1148 
Fax: (715) 930-1139 

Counties: Barron, Buffalo, Burnett, Chippewa, 
Clark, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Jackson, 
LaCrosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Rusk, St. 
Croix, Trempealeau, Vernon, Washburn 
Tribes: Ho-Chunk 
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Cots 

Isolation area ........................................................... 41 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Rest periods ............................................................. 39 
Storage ..................................................................... 39 

Creativity 
Equipment ............................................................... 37 
Program ................................................................... 38 

Cribs 
Isolation area ........................................................... 41 
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Night care ................................................................ 57 
Rest periods ............................................................. 39 
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Death Reporting ........................................................... 10 
Denial ............................................................................ 61 
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Diapering 
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Diets .............................................................................. 40 
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Discipline ........................................... See Child Guidance 
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Early Learning Standards .............................................. 37 
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Parental notification ................................................ 43 
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Telephone numbers ................................................. 27 
Vehicle availability ................................................... 27 

Emergency Plan Policy .................................................... 9 
Exception to Rule ............................................................ 2 
Exit Lights ...................................................................... 29 

F 

Fee Payment and Refund Policy ..................................... 9 
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Infants and toddlers ................................................ 49 
Night care ................................................................ 57 

Field Trip 
Authorization .......................................................... 11 
Handwashing ........................................................... 43 
Notification.............................................................. 11 

Fire Evacuation ....................................................... 29, 57 
Fire Protection ............................................................. 29 
Firearms ....................................................................... 27 
First Aid 

Injuries..................................................................... 43 
Flashlight ...................................................................... 57 
Food 

Allergy ..................................................................... 40 
Handling .................................................................. 31 
Infants and toddlers ................................................ 49 
Meals and snacks .................................................... 55 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Preparation area ..................................................... 31 
Sources .................................................................... 31 
Storage .............................................................. 32, 49 

Food Allergies ................................................................. 9 
Formula ........................................................................ 49 
Frozen Foods ................................................................ 32 
Furnace Room Door ..................................................... 29 

G 

General Liability Insurance ............................................. 8 
Grouping 

Infants and toddlers ................................................ 40 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
School-age care ....................................................... 55 
Swimming ................................................................ 36 

Guns ............................................................................. 27 

H 

Handwashing 
Field trips ................................................................. 43 
Food service personnel ........................................... 40 
Personal cleanliness ................................................ 43 

Harmful Materials ........................................................ 43 
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Food storage ........................................................... 32 
Indoor and outdoor premises ................................. 27 
Off-premises outdoor play space ............................ 34 
Outdoor play space ................................................. 33 
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Requirements .......................................................... 41 

Health Care Policy .......................................................... 8 
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High Chair ..................................................................... 49 
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Hot Tub ........................................................................ 28 
Hours of Operation .................................................. 8, 60 
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I 

Ill Child Procedure ........................................................ 41 
Immunization ............................................................... 13 
Individual Attention ..................................................... 37 
Individualized Program .............................................. 104 
Indoor Play 

Equipment ............................................................... 38 
Indoor Space ................................................................ 30 
Infants and Toddlers 

Nitrates ................................................................... 30 
Requirements for care ............................................ 48 

Injury 
Observation ............................................................. 43 
Procedures .............................................................. 43 
Reporting to department ........................................ 10 
Reporting to parents ............................................... 11 

Insecticide .................................................................... 27 
Inspection 

Building ................................................................... 27 
Fire extinguishers .................................................... 29 
Licensing ............................................................. 10, 64 

Insurance 
General and vehicle liability ...................................... 8 
Pets ......................................................................... 44 

Intellectual Growth ...................................................... 37 
Isolation ....................................................................... 41 

J 

Job Description............................................................... 8 

K 

Kitchens ........................................................................ 31 

L 

Large Muscle Development 
Equipment ............................................................... 38 
Program................................................................... 37 

Laws ............................................................................... 8 
Leftovers ................................................................. 40, 49 
Liability Insurance .......................................................... 8 
License 

Amending ................................................................ 60 
Continuation application ......................................... 60 
Denial or revocation ................................................ 61 
Initial application ..................................................... 58 
Posting requirements ................................................ 9 
Summary suspension .............................................. 62 
Terms ........................................................................ 8 

Licensed Capacity ...................................................... 9, 60 
Literacy ......................................................................... 37 

M 

Manipulative Skills Equipment ..................................... 38 
Meal Preparation Personnel 

Responsibilities and qualifications ........................... 21 
Meals and Snacks 

Infants and toddlers ................................................ 49 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Requirements .......................................................... 39 

Medication 
Requirements .......................................................... 42 

Menu ............................................................................ 40 
Mildly Ill Child ............................................................... 41 
Milk 

Standards ................................................................. 31 
Mixed-Age Group ......................................................... 25 
Months of Operation ................................................ 8, 60 

N 

Napping 
Requirements .......................................................... 39 

Night Care ..................................................................... 57 
Non-Mobile Child ......................................................... 49 
Non-Owned Vehicle Liability Insurance .......................... 8 
Nutrition Policy ............................................................... 9 

O 

Orientation 
Evacuating sleeping children ................................... 57 

Orientation Policy ........................................................... 9 
Outdoor Play 

Activities .................................................................. 33 
Space requirements ................................................. 33 

Ownership of Center .................................................... 60 

P 

Paper Towel .................................................................. 33 
Parent 

Access to center....................................................... 11 
Access to child records ............................................ 12 
Notifications ................................................ 11, 43, 44 
Opportunity for communication.............................. 11 

Parental Consent 
Alternate arrival / release .................................. 12, 55 
Care of mildly ill child .............................................. 41 
Field trip................................................................... 11 
Lotions, powders, salves .......................................... 50 
Medical care ............................................................ 12 
Medication administration ...................................... 42 
Release of confidential information ........................ 14 
Research or testing .................................................. 13 
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Personnel Policy.............................................................. 8 
Pets ............................................................................... 44 
Physical Restraint .......................................................... 38 
Plan of Correction ........................................................... 9 
Playpen 

Quantity ................................................................... 48 
Rest periods ............................................................. 39 

Poison ............................................................... 27, 43, 44 
Policies 

Available to parents ................................................. 12 
Development ............................................................. 9 
Reflective of program .............................................. 37 

Pools ............................................................................. 35 
Potty Chair 

Quantity ................................................................... 33 
Power Tools .................................................................. 28 
Protective Measures ..................................................... 27 
Publicity .......................................................................... 9 

Q 

Qualifications 
Food service personnel ............................................ 21 
School-age care ........................................................ 51 

R 

Recording 
Application of lotions, powders, etc. ....................... 50 
Attendance .............................................................. 13 

Records 
Access ................................................................ 14, 64 
Children.................................................................... 12 
Confidentiality ......................................................... 14 
Driving ...................................................................... 46 
Fire alarms, smoke detectors ................................... 29 
Fire and tornado drills .............................................. 29 
Menus ...................................................................... 40 

Refrigerator ............................................................ 31, 42 
Religious Training .......................................................... 12 
Remodeling ................................................................... 11 
Reports 

To county department ............................................. 14 
To department ......................................................... 10 
To parents ................................................................ 11 

Reports To Department ................................................ 10 
Research or Testing Project .......................................... 13 
Rest Periods .................................................................. 39 
Revocation .................................................................... 61 
Riflery ............................................................................ 44 
Routines 

Documenting changes ............................................. 48 
Infants and toddlers ................................................. 48 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Programming ........................................................... 37 
Toilet training ........................................................... 38 

S 

Safety Gates ................................................................. 48 
Safety Measures 

Drinking water ......................................................... 30 
Emergency lighting .................................................. 57 
Energy-absorbing surface .................................. 34, 38 
Exit lights ................................................................. 29 
Fire protection ......................................................... 29 
Food handling .......................................................... 32 
Food storage ........................................................... 32 
Stairs, walks, ramps, porches .................................. 27 
Telephone ............................................................... 27 
Vehicle availability ................................................... 27 
Written response plans ........................................... 29 
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Bedding ................................................................... 39 
Dishwashing ............................................................ 31 
Food contact surfaces ............................................. 32 
Hand sanitizers ........................................................ 43 
Kitchen equipment and utensils .............................. 31 
Personal care items ................................................. 43 

Schedule 
Infants and toddlers ................................................ 48 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Program ................................................................... 37 
School-age care ....................................................... 55 

School-Age Care ........................................................... 55 
Screens 

Hot surface .............................................................. 27 
Isolation area ........................................................... 41 

Self-Contained Room 
Infants and toddlers ................................................ 48 
Mildly ill care ........................................................... 41 
Night care ................................................................ 57 

Sidewalks...................................................................... 27 
Single Use Towels ......................................................... 32 
Single-Service Utensils ................................................. 31 
Sinks 

Diapering ................................................................. 50 
Meal preparation .................................................... 31 
Mildly ill care ........................................................... 41 

Sleep Position ............................................................... 49 
Sleeping 

Evacuating children ................................................. 57 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Rest periods............................................................. 39 

Sleeping Bag 
Isolation area ........................................................... 41 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Rest periods............................................................. 39 

Sleeping Garment......................................................... 57 
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Equipment ............................................................... 38 
Program ................................................................... 37 

Smoke Detectors .......................................................... 29 
Smoking ........................................................................ 27 
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Snacks 

Equipment and utensils ........................................... 31 
Night care ................................................................ 57 
Requirements .......................................................... 39 

Snow Removal.............................................................. 27 
Soap ........................................................................ 32, 42 
Social Interaction 

Equipment ............................................................... 38 
Mealtimes ............................................................... 40 
Program................................................................... 37 

Space 
Change in use .......................................................... 10 
Deduction for cribs .................................................. 48 
Exclusive use ........................................................... 26 
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Maintenance ........................................................... 27 
Safety gates ............................................................. 48 
Storage .................................................................... 29 

Storage 
Cots, bedding, supplies, equipment ........................ 30 
Food ........................................................................ 32 
Requirements .......................................................... 30 

Summary Suspension ................................................... 62 
Supervision 
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Telephone .................................................................... 27 
Television ..................................................................... 37 
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Dishwashing ............................................................ 31 
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Food storage ........................................................... 32 
Inside ....................................................................... 27 
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Testing 
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Water ...................................................................... 30 
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Thermometer 
Cold storage ............................................................ 32 
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Time Out ...................................................................... 38 
Toilet 

Facilities .................................................................. 33 
Toilet Training .............................................................. 38 
Toothbrush.............................................................. 43, 57 
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Toys 

Equipment ............................................................... 38 
Program - infants and toddlers ............................... 49 
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Utensils 

Infants and toddlers ................................................ 49 
Kitchen ..................................................................... 31 
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Vehicle 
Availability ............................................................... 27 
Food delivery ........................................................... 32 
Insurance ................................................................... 8 

Vehicle Liability Insurance .............................................. 8 
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Wading Pool ................................................................. 35 
Washbasins................................................................... 33 
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