Job Loss and Child Support
What You Need to Know

1. By law, you must tell your child support agency within 10 days if you lose your job, if your income
changes, if you get a new job, or if you change jobs. This will not change your court ordered payment
amounts.

2. Your court order for support continues after a job loss. (Only a court can change an order.)

3. If your job loss is expected to last longer than 6 to 8 weeks, you can ask to have your court order reviewed
for a change. This is not automatic. (See “Review of Child Support Order” below.)

4. If child support payments were taken out of your paycheck, child support payments will now be withheld
from your Unemployment Insurance checks. (See “Wisconsin Unemployment Benefits” below)

Wisconsin Unemployment Benefits

Your next child support payment may be due before you get your first Unemployment check. It is then your
responsibility to make that support payment. The coupon in this handout may be used for making a payment.

It is also possible you will owe more support than what is withheld from your Unemployment checks. You can
use the coupon in this handout to pay the difference.

State policy allows up to 50% of your unemployment checks to be withheld for support. If deductions related to
unemployment (overpayments or penalties) reduce your unemployment benefits, 50 % of what remains can be
withheld. For example: your unemployment is $300 per week, but $50 is deduction for an overpayment. The
balance of your unemployment benefit is $250 ($300 - $50). Up to $125 (half of the balance) can be withheld
for support. If you owe $150 each week for support, you are still responsible to pay the remaining $25.

Review of Child Support Order
When your job loss is for an extended period of time, you can ask to have your court order reviewed for a
change. (Only a court can change a support order.) You can ask for a review by:

e Making a request for a review, in writing, to the child support office if the child support agency is
providing services on your case. When asked, child support agencies will review your court order once
every three years or when there has been a substantial change in circumstances.

e Asking the court for a review using a “do it yourself” (pro se) approach. Links to court forms for
asking the court for a review are online at childsupport.wisconsin.gov.

e Hiring an attorney to ask the court for a review. —
(Cut along line, complete the reverse side, and mail to address below)

Payment Coupon
To Child Support Payer:

Complete the back of this coupon. Mail this coupon along with your check or money order (payable to WI
SCTF). Be sure to write your KIDS PIN number (Child Support PIN number) on your check or money order.

Please mail to:

Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund (W1 SCTF)
Box 74200
Milwaukee, W1 53274-0200
Thank you!



Contact Information

For information on your case, contact the child support office where your court case is located. County or tribal
child support agencies are in your phone book under “county government” or tribal name and online at
childsupport.wisconsin.gov. Most public libraries have free Internet access.

More Information

For information about your case, contact your child support agency. More information about paying support is
online at childsupport.wisconsin.gov:

e income withholding e withholding limits
e changing a child support order e when past-due support is owed
e court resources and court forms e setting child support amounts

Payment Coupon

To submit the Payment Coupon below, cut along the line, complete the required information, and mail to the
Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund at the address listed on the reverse side.

Mail the completed coupon with a check or money order for any missed child support payments or for the
amount that is not withheld from your Unemployment check. The coupon can also be used when you find a
new job, and there is a delay before your new employer starts income withholding.

You can also print a payment coupon from the Child Support Online Services website at
childsupport.wisconsin.gov or use the payment coupons that come with your monthly statement. If you do not
get monthly statements, contact your child support agency.

If you have questions about how to use a coupon, please call the Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund,
Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. — 5:00 p.m. (central time), at:

TEL: (800) 991-5530
TDD: (877) 209-5209

The Department of Children and Families is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a
disability and need to access this information in an alternate format, or need it translated to another language,
please call (608) 266-9909 or (800) 947-3529 TTY (toll free).

Providing your social security number is voluntary. You have the option of entering your KIDS PIN below.
Your “KIDS PIN” is your child support PIN number. It is written on your Monthly Statements and on most
notices sent by your child support agency. You can also contact your child support agency for your KIDS PIN.

Payment Coupon N

Your Name

Your Social Security Number/
Individual Tax Identification Number

OR
Your KIDS PIN

Designated Court Case Number (Optional)

Amount Enclosed $
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