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Instructions for Person Accepting Relinquishment of an Infant

Under 2001 Wisconsin Act 2, a parent may relinquish their newborn to a law enforcement officer,
emergency medical technician, or hospital staff member and may remain anonymous and free from
prosecution, unless any of the following circumstances are true:

1. The newborn has been abused or neglected, or
2. The person is being coerced into relinquishing the newborn, or
3. The newborn is believed to be over 72 hours old.

The person is not obligated to accept any information you provide or give you any information about
themselves or the newborn. They may leave your presence at anytime unless you believe one of the
above situations is true or, as part of your normal responsibilities, there is a reason to take the person
into custody (e.g., the person is a wanted criminal, the person needs post-delivery care, the person
has been abused, the person may be sick). Any information provided before, during, or after the
person relinquishes their newborn must remain confidential except that it may be provided to those
people caring for the safety and well being of the child.

Within 24 hours of taking custody of the newborn, you must transfer custody of the baby to
the Intake Unit at the County Human or Social Services Department in the county in which the
newborn was relinquished. Provide any non-identifying information you may have to the
county intake worker.

The Department of Children and Families is an equal opportunity employer and service provider. If you have a disability
and need to access services, receive information in an alternate format, or need information translated to another
language, please call (608) 266-8787. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing, deaf-blind or speech disabled can use
the free Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) — 711 to contact the department.
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