
 

Please contact our agency’s 
representatives if you have questions 
about the review process, need 
translation services, or need help 
completing forms to request an appeal. 

LOCAL AGENCY STICKER HERE 

The Department of Children and Families is an 
equal opportunity employer and service provider. If 
you have a disability and need to access services, 
receive information in an alternate format, or need 
information translated to another language, please 
call (608) 266-8787. Individuals who are deaf, hard 
of hearing, deaf-blind or speech disabled can use 
the free Wisconsin Relay Service (WRS) – 711 to 
contact the department. 
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FINAL DETERMINATIONS 

After a review occurs, OR if you do 
not request a review, the agency will 
issue a Final Determination regarding 
whether you abused or neglected a 
child.  

Final determinations of child abuse or 
neglect may impact employment or 
other activities that require a 
caregiver background check.  

You may appeal a final determination 
by returning the “Child Maltreatment 
Contested Case Hearing Request” 
form within 10 days of notice of Final 
Determination of substantiation.  

DIVISION OF HEARINGS AND 
APPEALS (DHA): APPEAL OF A 
FINAL DETERMINATIONS OF 
CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT 

DHA procedures: 

• You may hire an attorney at your
own expense. One will not be
appointed to you.

• You may request a translator, if
needed.

• DHA will hold the hearing within
90 days after you have made your
request, unless the judge delays
the case (holds in abeyance) due
to a criminal or child court matter.

• You will be notified of the DHA
decision within 60 days after the
appeal hearing.

INITIAL DETERMINATIONS 

The conclusion reached by Child 
Protective Services (CPS) that abuse 
or neglect of a child occurred is called 
an Initial Determination.   

If CPS has made an Initial 
Determination that you abused or 
neglected a child, you may request an 
agency review within 15 days of the 
Notice of Initial Determination.  Please 
complete the portion of the form 
describing why you disagree with the 
Initial Determination. 

AGENCY REVIEW OF AN INITIAL 
DETERMINATION OF CHILD ABUSE 
AND NEGLECT: 

Agency Review procedures: 

• You may hire an attorney at your
own expense.  One will not be
appointed to you.

• You may speak and/or present
written evidence.

• You may request a translator from
the agency, if needed.

• You may not present witnesses.

• You may not question agency staff.

• The agency is not required to
present evidence or witnesses.

• The review will be scheduled for at
least one hour.

• The review may occur by phone or
in person.

• You will be notified of the Final
Determination in writing within 15
days after the review.

REHABILITATION REVIEW 

If you have a Final Determination of 
child abuse and/or neglect you may be 
legally prevented from some types of 
work and activities that require a 
Wisconsin Caregiver Background 
Check. 

A rehabilitation review allows you to 
present positive information that shows 
that children, vulnerable adults, or 
patients would be safe with you or in 
your care.  

A rehabilitation finding may deny any 
caregiver actions, approve all 
caregiver actions, or grant limited 
approval for some caregiver actions 
that would otherwise be barred by a 
Final Determination of abuse or 
neglect under the Caregiver Law.   

Rehabilitation Review information for 
entities regulated by the Wisconsin 
Department of Health Services: 

• DHS Office of Legal Counsel
(608-266-8428)

• https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/
publications/p6/p63160.pdf

Rehabilitation Review information for 
entities regulated by the Wisconsin 
Department of Children and Families: 

• DCF Office of Legal Counsel

(608-261-8671)

• https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/rehab-

review
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